Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
We made this salad dressing to use in the Miso Salmon recipe. Since we were only making 3 servings, we adjusted accordingly and made only enough for the recipe. We substituted Sesame oil for the olive oil so it would go along better with the other recipe, and followed the recipe directly. Unfortunately we needed to use it all for the recipe and had none leftover, as it was delish!! I went out to the store to get replacement ingredients so that i can make a whole batch and use it on salad! this is the ginger dressing i have been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I was excited to try this recipe. I followed the recipe and it is nothing like I had hoped it to be. We did not care for it. I am using it as a dumpling sauce. Still in search for a Japanese ginger salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Fabulous! I loved this salad dressing, it remminds me of my favorite japanese restaurant. I added extra ginger because I like extra spicy. I also added 1 Tbsp of rice wine vinegar as suggested by one of the reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
All I could taste was the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chadron, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is a horrible recipe. The olive oil was overwhelming...needs some vinegar to cut the oil. Overall, the taste wasn't good, and didn't taste anything like Japanese dressing. I tried to save it by adding some other things to it, but did no prevail. I usually like oil-based dressings too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queen_palladium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Mmm I really enjoyed this recipe. I used a combo of sesame and olive oil, based on the reviews. I think next time I will make it a day in advance, which I wasn't able to do this time; the leftovers just get better and better! Also I would like to try grinding up the ginger rather than mincing it, to give it that pasty consistency like Benihana's. All in all a very impressive outcome for not a lot of effort, and makes even a simple salad something special. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This dressing is awesome. I added a little Mirin (rice wine) and went back for seconds. It's my new favorite homemade dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was awful. There must be radically different dressings used in Japanese steakhouses across the country or something, because this isn't what I'm used to. Extremely oily. The ginger was overpowered by the oil and the lemon. It was inedible and wasted a lot of good olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmoore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
As this recipe is written, it's slightly better then OK. Here's what I did...I combined all the ingredients in a salad dressing shaker until well blended. I sampled the mixture, and it was a little tart. So I added 1/4 C white sugar, and stirred until mixed. Still needed some more, so I added 1/8 C of sesame oil, and a splash more of soy sauce. Now it tasted better. When I added the olive oil to the shaker, it was less then a cup since I had no more room left. My wife and I both agree that this dressing, with my changes, now is a 5-star dressing and she compared it to some of the store bought sesame-ginger dressing. For those who like more of a ginger flavor, use powdered ginger. I tried this with 2 T of powder in lieu of the 3 T of fresh, and the ginger flavor was very strong. I use this (revised) dressing on my salads, I use it to marinate chicken thighs, and I use it as a dressing on sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Perhaps my expectations were too high, but this dressing was very disappointing. It was extremely garlicy. I love garlic & it was just too much. It also had a heavy olive oil taste, which is certainly not a Japanese flavor. If you're looking for a dressing similar to Benihana's or other Japanese steakhouses, this is certainly not it, keep looking. After one serving, we did not eat any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States