Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I made it as listed/no changes. I was a little afraid to put that much ginger in it....but I did....and it did turn out OK. It is not overpowering IF you really like ginger (which I do). My issue was the olive oil. I only have virgin olive oil around and the olive flavor really came through. For me that was not a good thing....olives don't strike me as an Oriental flavor. So.....I would make this again but I would not use the olive oil/would use either peanut oil (none of us have peanut allergies here) or a lighter salad oil. OK....one small change. I did not wisk it....I used the blender. I had no trouble with this emulifying nicely or having it come out thin/oily as some posters noted. The blender probably took care of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I added extra honey & some balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELINDALOO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I'm been crazing a good Japanese dressing for a while now and this totally hit the spot! Ate if for lunch then again for snack! ITS AMAZINGLY GOOD!! Thanks so much for posting!! This is a new stable food lol ? LOVE LOVE LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I made this with a little less olive oil and added just a little sesame oil. It tasted AWESOME!!!! After 2 days it became very chunky and weird consistancy, but it still tasted very good. I thought maybe it was because of the oil I left out. I added more but it still stayed sort of "sepaerated" for lack of a better term. It is really thick and when I stir it it stays the same. I don't know why, but I still enjoy the flavor. I also added some rice vinegar to see if it would change the consistancy, but it hasn't. *Update* I set the dressing out of the fridge for a little bit, as a reviewer suggested to another, and it went right back to the consistancy it should be. Thanks reviewers!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiselput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
After reading the modifications already posted, I remembered that Olive Oil does have a very strong taste so I used 1/2 cup Olive Oil, 1/4 cup Grapeseed oil and 1/4 Almond Oil. Instead of straight soy sauce I used something called Soyaki from Trader joe's. This was the first time I tried this recipe and with these modifications, not only did I like it a awful lot but my picky spouse decided he liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for. I don't know if I had a full 3 tablespoons of ginger. I also dialed back the soy just a little bit. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Webster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Absolutly love this dressing!! I don't enjoy salads very much because of the dressings i buy, but this has changed my perspective! I look forward to eating salads now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Good, but I made a couple changes. I did half seseme oil and half olive oil. I double (or even tripled) up on the honey and mustard since the soy sauce took saltiness to the extreme. To thicken the dressing I added 2 T of mayo and 1T of corn starch. Before refridgerating I stuck it all in the blender to emulsify better than just whisking... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taymay13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I love Japanese food and this dressing is better than I have had at my favorite restaurant! I have to keep this in my refrigerator to use everyday. Love it!! I usually add a little more ginger than the recipe calls for because I love the peppery bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is a vinagarette dressing (not a mayonnaise- based dressing as you can tell if you read the ingredients). I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions and added some rice wine vinegar (1TBS) and some white vinegar (1TBS). I also added 1 TBS of white sugar. With these changes it tastes exactly like the ginger dressing served at every Japanese restaurant that I've ever visited. I made the salad with finely chopped carrots, green onions, and julienned cucumber over shredded lettuce, and served it alongside grilled steak. This was exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodfan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States