Japanese Ginger Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Excellent dish, very easy and tasty. For this recipe, I sliced up 4 pork chops and doubled the marinade with great results. I added some extra ginger (big fan) and also saved some marinade to reduce and add as a sauce at the end. My Japanese mother-in-law has taught me a great trick for cooking meat like this. It's best to cook in small batches that don't overlap in the (non-stick) pan. After each batch, drain off excess oil and wipe clean with a paper towel. This keeps the meat and marinade from getting to burned. This works well for any meat that is cut into small pieces and saucy from a marinade. Hubby says it was just like mom's cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I loved this! The flavors were delicate and it went well with rice. You definitely have to be careful what else you serve so you don't overpower the flavor of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Awesome! I marinated a thinly sliced pork tenderloin for about 3 hours, then drained the meat reserving the marinade. Stir-fried the meat over high heat in a large skillet until nicely browned then added the reserved marinade plus some water to deglaze the pan (& glaze the meat!) Served on a bed of thinly sliced cabbage that had been sauteed with onion in wok oil until tender (with a little dark sesame oil for more flavor). A bit of soy sauce was added to the cabbage right before plating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Hubby and I both loved this recipes. I did , however, use probably 2x of the ginger it called for. Be sure to use real fresh ginger root. I grated mine. It goes very well with steamed rice, steamed/boiled cabbage or lettuce. :) Thank you so much. I love the sauce as well. Also, A word of advice if you are using cut up pork tenderloin. It will work and very well, but make sure the strips aren't too thick. With strips, the marinade needs to be stronger so the flavor would soak through. If you don't have too much time to marinade it, be sure to beat it in a bag (tenderize) before hand. I know some of us are trying to use the less fatty cuts, this tip and recipe is definitely good for those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Excellent! I knew I would love this as I grew up eating dishes flavored with Mirin, Sake and ginger. I doubled the marinade and added a little more grated ginger. I marinated the pork loin for about 6 hours before sautéing. I sautéed the pork on high heat stirring and cooking until brown and meat looked crispy. I cooked the meat in three small batches, drained the grease, wiping the pan clean with paper towel before adding the next batch of meat. The kitchen quickly filled up with the aroma of this marinade. This was quick and easy with wonderful results! The pork was tender and flavorful infused with the succulent marinade. Mmmm. The ginger is pronounced but it is not overpowering. I paired this with hot rice, “Oriental Green Bean Salad,” and “Easy Bok Choy,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
The pork was so tender! It absolutely needed double the amount of ginger and a little more soy. I served mine over a little bit of sticky rice and lots of shredded cabbage as suggested. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Delicious! I marinated this for about 24 hours and it was amazing. I used a 2 pound pork tenderloin so I doubled the marinade. Next time I will triple it and reserve some to pour over rice when serving. I also used some of the leftovers the next morning for breakfast. I diced a little bit of onion with the pork and put used it in my eggs in place of ham. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is fantastic, it's become a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
FANTASTIC!!! Thank you for sharing your recipe. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Delicious, easy to cook, and fast cooking. Served with pork fried rice and salad with ginger dressing. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States