Japanese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is the best wing recipe ever with the following changes: I used chicken strips instead of wings and fried them (for a total of 10 minutes, turning over after 5 min.) in a half stick of butter and a half cup of olive oil (this prevents the butter from burning). I also added a clove of minced garlic and a half tablespoon of minced fresh ginger to the sauce and thickened a little on the stove before pouring over the chicken. I then cooked them in the oven for 20 minutes. Everyone raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Delicious, I make these quite often. I had fresh garlic instead of garlic powder and a chunck of chopped ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This review is for the sauce only. Very nice sticky sauce. The second time I made this, I added 1tsp of cornstarch and heated the sauce on the stove top prior to pouring over wings. Made it a little thicker. FYI ... Baked the wings at 400 for 30 minutes, flipped and baked another 25, flipped, added sauce and baked at 350 for 15 mins, flipped and finished off with another 15 mins. Delicious! Thanks TLTRN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
it is one of the most tasty things you can have for diner with rice on the side and then put the sauce over it i think you will like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Took the advice of one of the reviewers and used 1/2 the sugar the recipe called for... also didn't use the egg & flour. Cooked them in a pan on the grill with the sauce.... they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
We added chinese garlic chili paste....mmmmmm delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
These turned out really well, but my Japanese-Canadian bf asked “what’s Japanese about this recipe?” Not too much, but these were good nonetheless. I did a couple of changes to the recipe. To make it a bit more “Asian” I substituted ¼ cup of the white vinegar for rice wine vinegar. I also added about a tablespoon of sesame oil. I only used ¾ a cup of sugar, but next time I would only add ½ a cup, as it was a tiny bit sweet for my taste. I used low sodium soy sauce and completely left out the salt. As for the cooking time, I listened to other reviewers and decided to bake them instead of frying. I coated them in flour and sprayed them with Pam. I baked them for about 45 minutes at 425, turning them over every 15 minutes. I then set it to high heat broil, and added the sauce. I broiled them for about 12 minutes, turning them over and basting the wings every 4 minutes. Not exactly Japanese, but it’s a great “Asian inspired” recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
YUMMMM!!! First time frying anything, and these are tasty delicacies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I tried this just as it was except used the chicken breast pieces I already had in the fridge. the whole family loved it. I am also going to use the sauce recipe on ribs as I'm sure the sticky sauce will work superbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashy2221

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I LOVED this sauce! My boyfriend and I were literally licking our fingers it was so good - the only reason I'm only giving this four stars is that I used only 1/4 cup of sugar (I used brown sugar) since the amount of sugar seemed excessive. So, if prepared as is, this is probably way too sweet for me - but with the reduced sugar this is heavenly. Also, a minor change, but I used rice vinegar instead of white vinegar (mostly because I wanted to use it up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oceanphobia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 855) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States