Japanese Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
this is more like a sponge cake with cream cheese taste, mine sink, bt they still get eaten, I like the lightness of this recipe and prefer it to heavy cheesecakes (although they don't look pretty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
It is simple and easy. My family loved it. It reminds my family of quiche more than anything but if you top it with blueberries it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was my first time baking a cheesecake. I like this recipe because it doesn't use as much cream cheese, which makes this a light cheesecake. I halved the recipe to make a small cheesecake and added a tablespoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice. It turned out wonderfully! Just like the japanese cheesecakes from asian bakeries. Light like a spongecake (as i think it should be), yet still delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I followed the directions perfectly and it didn't turn out as planned. The timing was off as well. I had to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
FIRST TRY -- I mistakenly used Neufchatel instead of cream cheese. It turned out quite interesting...very smooth with a consistency denser than pumpkin pie but not really gelatin-like either. Not horrible but obviously not the way it was suppose to turn out. -- SECOND TRY -- I used fat free cream cheese and added 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice. It turned out alright - a little dense but I did change the recipe. It was somewhat like a sponge cake but not quite as fluffy. -- THIRD TRY -- Third time's a charm! I used fat-free cream cheese along with fat free skim milk. Although it looked dense, it turned out soft. It was flufflier this time probably because I did a better job of combining the ingredients (making sure the yolks and sugar were light and fluffy, etc.). I didn't have parchment paper so I just used PAM and I had no problem with it sticking. With the fat-free ingredients, each serving has barely any fat and less than 100 calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Cheesecake turns out quite good, but I thought increasing the ingredients twice would even better for thickness if you're making it in a 9' pan. Is still densed but not heavy which makes this cake taste good & craving more. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This was really good. I tried it with fat-free and regular cream cheese and all came out very fluffy and smooth. It looked really nice too. I also added a bit of lemon juice to the egg whites because i didn't have any cream of tartar. The slight tartness was good. The bottom of the cake will be a little wet when a toothpick is inserted even when it is fully cooked. Upon cooling it will be fine! loved it my family devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This was delicious. I made it 3 times and it was gone within a few minutes. I am going to double the recipe next time. It was light, fluffy, and it tastes better than something that costs 1.39 at the store. I would definitely recommend it. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
the first time i made it, it was too dense. but it tasted okay. the second time i made it, it was fluffier but kind of sticky. too much sugar? they were definitely done so it wasn't that they weren't done yet. but they still tasted fine. i will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe as accurately as I could, and it sank on me. Brother hated it, father consoled it, and I dumped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States