Japanese Broiled Mackerel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2002
This is a really good sauce! I used it to marinate a whole fish that had slits cut on the side. I also added a bit more ginger, only because I do like my ginger :) I steamed the fish and with the leftover sauce, I added some cornstarch and water to make a thicker sauce to drizzle over after serving. Low fat and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This recipe worked great on salmon. I used some of the cooked sauce on white rice and it was delicious. The salmon turned out juicy and well cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This sauce is soooo awesome. I used salmon & broiled in oven - it caramelized the sauce & made the fish so tasty, especially over rice and steamed veggies. I used light soy sauce. Also boiled remaining marinade to use as sauce on the side. Easy weeknight recipe, but I would definitely serve to friends too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCEVITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Terrific marinade. I used this to marinate salmon fillet, and it was A-#1 in flavor. Thanks for the great post, Jana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Very easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The only thing I did differently is add 1 teaspoon of chili sauce to give it punch. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
excellent! tasted just like the one at the japanese restaurant :) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was sooo good and easy! I omitted the extra sugar and added a tsp of chinese chili paste as well. Grilled it, basted it and ate it over steamed rice with Japanese broccoli. My husband wanted more, but I ate it all. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tezuka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I used this on some King Mackerel from the Gulf of Mexico and grilled it. The end result was awesome. I believe using the sauce as both a marinade and a basting sauce as suggested made the difference between good and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I didn't have any mirin but I had the mackerel so I used coconut vinegar instead of the mirin. The taste was wonderful. Thanks so much for the springboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make the perfect, super-fast weeknight fish recipe.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States