Japanese Broiled Mackerel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2002
This is a really good sauce! I used it to marinate a whole fish that had slits cut on the side. I also added a bit more ginger, only because I do like my ginger :) I steamed the fish and with the leftover sauce, I added some cornstarch and water to make a thicker sauce to drizzle over after serving. Low fat and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This recipe worked great on salmon. I used some of the cooked sauce on white rice and it was delicious. The salmon turned out juicy and well cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This sauce is soooo awesome. I used salmon & broiled in oven - it caramelized the sauce & made the fish so tasty, especially over rice and steamed veggies. I used light soy sauce. Also boiled remaining marinade to use as sauce on the side. Easy weeknight recipe, but I would definitely serve to friends too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCEVITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Terrific marinade. I used this to marinate salmon fillet, and it was A-#1 in flavor. Thanks for the great post, Jana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Very easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The only thing I did differently is add 1 teaspoon of chili sauce to give it punch. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
excellent! tasted just like the one at the japanese restaurant :) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was sooo good and easy! I omitted the extra sugar and added a tsp of chinese chili paste as well. Grilled it, basted it and ate it over steamed rice with Japanese broccoli. My husband wanted more, but I ate it all. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tezuka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I used this on some King Mackerel from the Gulf of Mexico and grilled it. The end result was awesome. I believe using the sauce as both a marinade and a basting sauce as suggested made the difference between good and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I didn't have any mirin but I had the mackerel so I used coconut vinegar instead of the mirin. The taste was wonderful. Thanks so much for the springboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make the perfect, super-fast weeknight fish recipe.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States