Japanese Broiled Mackerel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I was hoping for something more crisp out of the broiler, but alas the fish came out with a soft texture, even with extra cooking time. Salt (a lot) helps, but I'll pass this recipe next time and use the fry-pan instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
My father-in-law really enjoyed this...and he is a boiled fish and potatoes kind of guy! I didn't have the Japanese wine, so I just used red wine that we had on hand. Next time I will marinate overnight for more taste. I also thickened with a little cornstarch at the end and used it as a sauce with the fish. That was very popular with the family.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borden, Indiana, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was a great marinade for the mackerel! We absolutely loved it. We cooked the fish on the grill and it had an amazing taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
We were given some free "just-caught" mackerel by some local fishermen - I had never eaten or cooked mackerel before - and this was a very tasty recipe! I cut slits in the skin of the mackerel as suggested by other reviewers. I didn't have mirin so substituted white wine. I thought the soya sauce would be overpowering but it wasn't at all. It is a good recipe to eat while watching a DVD at home, as you really do need to "pick through the bones" slowly with mackerel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Very easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
The sauce was good, but it was a bit too sweet for our taste since the mirin was already sweet to begin with. The taste also didn't stay with the fish, it was rather bland unless you dip it into the sauce... Next time I'd try slicing the side of the fish before marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Terrific marinade. I used this to marinate salmon fillet, and it was A-#1 in flavor. Thanks for the great post, Jana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This sauce is soooo awesome. I used salmon & broiled in oven - it caramelized the sauce & made the fish so tasty, especially over rice and steamed veggies. I used light soy sauce. Also boiled remaining marinade to use as sauce on the side. Easy weeknight recipe, but I would definitely serve to friends too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCEVITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This recipe worked great on salmon. I used some of the cooked sauce on white rice and it was delicious. The salmon turned out juicy and well cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Very good! I find mackerel very fatty, and this seemed to cut down on the greasy taste! Easy to prepare too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make the perfect, super-fast weeknight fish recipe.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States