Japanese Beef Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Outside of adding some fresh minced garlic, I prepared this following the recipe closely. And we enjoyed the heck out of it. Sometimes things don't need a whole lot of explanation or analysis. This is one of those times. It works. (I used No Name Sirloin Steaks, baby bok choy and basmati rice. Hubs made "Cucumber Sunomono" to go with - delicious )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Perfect for weekdays. Prepare night before so all you have to do next day is cook it. A few things I did other than recipe called for: 1) Marinate Beef overnight in salt, pepper, minced ginger. 2) Cut up all veggies night before. Placed all veggies together in ziplock bag in fridge. 3) Mixed sauce night before and added red pepper flakes to add spice. I browned the beef with the ginger that I marinated with. It added that "japanese" flavor that I was looking for. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
YUMYY! I didn't have shitake mushrooms on hand so I just used regular button mushrooms. This was a big hit! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Fabulous! Even my pickiest child loved it! Marinated the meat in 1cup soy, 2TBS chopped garlic, and 1/4cup lemon juice. Tenderizes the meat nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
great recipe!!!! i loved it. It felt like I was eating at a fancy asian restaurant....but even better!!!!! and I cooked it all by myself!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe was simple, easy but taste amazing. I even screwed up and forgot to add the broth and it still turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I found this recipe looking up healthier beef recipes on Allrecipes. It tasted pretty good, but boy was it time consuming! I actually cut up all the vegetables and sliced the meat earlier in the day because I was going to be busy in the evening. Half the meat and vegetables had to be cooked at a time, as suggested, which made it a little messy and dirtied more dishes than necessary. The end result strangely reminded me a little bit of the flavor of chop suey. I definitely will try buying the sirloin as suggested. I thought it was way more tender than round steak. I also don't ever use bok choy so that was an interesting addition I had not thought of. Overall it was just too much time in the kitchen, for my normal quick stir fry recipes, but it surprisingly was much better than what I would expect from a healthier beef dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
i made this today. i omitted mushrooms and used less soy sauce. i will make this again. tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
this was very good, however i made it easy on myself and used frozen stir fry vegs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
It looked very nice. It wasn't an overly exciting flavor, but the sauce was pretty strong/salty. I should have followed some of the other suggestions to cut down the soy sauce and add some ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States