Japanese Beef Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
My brother dislikes mushrooms very much as well as asparagus that is not cooked by him. We both loved this dish. The soy sauce and onions bring out the true flavor of the beef and there is a very slight hint of asparagus (I used 4 pieces of asparagus per each instead of the recommended 3, so this is probably why). Overall, this gets an A from me as it is fast to cook, easy to prepare - after the first time - easy to remember, and extremely filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Very, very good. Next time I'll take care to pound the meat down thinner. The beef does need a little more flavor; I dipped mine in extra soy sauce. Garlic, maybe? Sesame? I'll have to experiment, but I'll definitely be making it again. So quick and easy and healthy, and quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I really liked this! I did add more than just soy sauce to the meat. Sprinkled garlic powder, onion powder and used tamari soy sauce. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Great! Looks a little daunting, but it was fun to make and I added some other vegetables I had laying around. I think I might try it with teriyaki sauce too some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALonis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I'd give this 4 stars due to the ease of making it. Next time I would definetly marinate the meat in soysauce, a bit of ginger and maybe a drop of sesame oil for more flavourful meat. The filling was excellent but as I said the meat needed more flavour. We served it with a dipping sauce which was mayonaise mixed with a bit of soysauce. The dip really brought out the flavours and made this dish awesome. I highly recommend including the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks 4 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was good and I would make it again. Be careful not to roll the beef too thickly; I did this by mistake and the outside was done and the middle was completely raw. I had to bake in the oven for some extra time to get the middle cooked. I added some garlic powder for some additional flavor and that worked out well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Needed to tweak the recipe a bit to add more flavor. Definitely need to add pepper and a bit of salt to the beef. I let the asparagus cook longer so they'd be tender. Added a bit of minced garlic to the pan while cooking the mushrooms. Finished with some Soy Vay teriyaki sauce to dress the rolls (more like the picture) which wasn't mentioned in the recipe as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Before I began the suggested prep work, I marinated the steaks in olive oil and garlin for 2 hours. I then followed the direction exactly, but put the rolls on the grill rather than broil. They turned out great, and my husband even asked for me to make them again. Great to find another meal to throw into the rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
New family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Will grill next time for optimal flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States