Jansson's Temptation (Janssons Frestelse) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I live in Sweden and this recipie is exactly like the one I use to make Jansson's Delight,, it is wonderful! The only difference is that I add the anchovies (packed in water from a tin) in layers, rather than at the bottom. I prefer your method better than mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was really easy and yum. I used normal anchovies, ( I soaked them in milk for a few hours before using them,and drained). I used both red and white onions ( thats what I had ) and I cut the potatoes into strips. I had to use a little more cream ( I think my potatoes were quite big) and I baked it earlier - took a little longer than 45 mins. and then reheated it close to serving. Will make again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I, too, was happily surprised at what an effect the anchovies had--AND without being detected by my anchovy-hating other half! I made one change to keep from going to the store--I substituted a tube of anchovy paste for the anchovies. I think the quantity of the tube may have been a bit small in comparison the "fourteen" anchovies called for, so I either won't do that again, or I will use TWO tubes. In spite of my faux pas, I am still SO impressed by this dish, and will make it again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This is crazy good - my boyfriend is Swedish, so it meant a lot to be able to surprise him with as-good-a-version as his family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
You should brown the onions in butter before adding them to the Jansson, this makes the Jansson "richer" in flavour. As a Swedish cook this is the real way to do it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meta4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
My gosh these are GOOD! I'm not a big anchovy fan, but you don't really taste the anchovies. They do, however, add a fabulous flavor. I used "regular" anchovies, half and half instead of heavy cream, and increased the topping a bit. We just LOVED these! Just a delicious potato dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Truly Excellent!!! One of the best potato dishes we've ever eaten. I used red onion for added depth and since I made it for two I had to adjust the amounts a bit (different than if you use the provided scaling calculator). 2 medium potatoes sliced 1/4", 1/2 Cup Heavy Cream, 2 Oz Butter and 1/4 bread crumbs (I'll increase the butter/bread crumbs next time, they really added to the dish) and I'd also bake 5 minutes longer (50 Minutes). This is top notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
IKEA sells Swedish anchovies. They're in the refrigerator section of the food market and they come in tins (but need to be kept refrigerated). While these are actually pratt fillets, what is important is the brine they lay in, which is spiced with cloves, ginger and other spices which bring the authentic flavor to this dish. I make Janssons Frestelse throughout the cold season every year, serve it to guests and bring it to potlucks and it is always very popular. Do not fear the anchovies! I always include the brine and usually use two tins. When I make this just for my family I sometimes throw whole tilapia fillets in the bottom of the baking dish and make it more of a balanced meal than a side dish. Lastly, I always use white pepper to season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I Tried this recipe at the Swedish Society Julmiddag (Christmas dinner) and was told it was a holiday MUST on any Swedish Christmas dinner. It was delicious! So I am bringing it when I go to my non-Swedish Canadian family dinner! I hate to think how many calories that whipping cream adds to the menu though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made It for my family. all of us liked it except for my sister who remove all the anchovies before even trying it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States