Jansson's Temptation (Janssons Frestelse) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I could detect the fishiness and the gray color was not appealing. I used a whole tube of anchovy paste which I think was the equivalent of 3 Tablespoons and I halved the recipe. It might have been better with only 1 Tablespoon, or just some salt. I ate it but if I make it again, I will not include anchovy paste. It also took 15 minutes longer to cook than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
So my husband and I are NOT fish people, but we live in TN so it is not like we get the freshest fish. I thought I could sneak in some omega-3's in and not be able to taste the fish with this dish. I bought the best jarred anchovies the store had, but the dish was FISHY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made It for my family. all of us liked it except for my sister who remove all the anchovies before even trying it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gordon Day
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is good. I used 1/2 and 1/2 but I added some butter to make up some of the difference of it and heavy cream. I used some anchovy paste squirted on top of the onions. probably about 1/2 a tube for 1/2 the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coquille, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I've always heard that anchovies lose the fishy taste when cooked in a recipe like this one but there was a slightly fishy taste. I used half and half instead of the heavy cream. It was just ok, probably won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wncqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
You should brown the onions in butter before adding them to the Jansson, this makes the Jansson "richer" in flavour. As a Swedish cook this is the real way to do it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meta4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I Tried this recipe at the Swedish Society Julmiddag (Christmas dinner) and was told it was a holiday MUST on any Swedish Christmas dinner. It was delicious! So I am bringing it when I go to my non-Swedish Canadian family dinner! I hate to think how many calories that whipping cream adds to the menu though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
IKEA sells Swedish anchovies. They're in the refrigerator section of the food market and they come in tins (but need to be kept refrigerated). While these are actually pratt fillets, what is important is the brine they lay in, which is spiced with cloves, ginger and other spices which bring the authentic flavor to this dish. I make Janssons Frestelse throughout the cold season every year, serve it to guests and bring it to potlucks and it is always very popular. Do not fear the anchovies! I always include the brine and usually use two tins. When I make this just for my family I sometimes throw whole tilapia fillets in the bottom of the baking dish and make it more of a balanced meal than a side dish. Lastly, I always use white pepper to season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
The anchovies gave an unwanted fishy taste. I would not include them again. Recipe would be better with just cheese, garlic, salt, and additional cream or half and half. I did like the innovative idea of placing the raw onions on the bottom layer so they cooked fully without needing to be sauteed. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This is crazy good - my boyfriend is Swedish, so it meant a lot to be able to surprise him with as-good-a-version as his family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States