Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These are truly phenomenal. I've made them with beer, ginger ale, water, and today I even tried them by proofing the yeast in milk (no water or beer) because we had to turn the water off as my husband was playing plumber. Unbelievable! Thanks Jan, hats off to the queen of yeast breads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Never tried something like this before. Rave reviews from family and it wasn't that hard. I was hesitant about using beer as I have had "beer battered" foods before and didn't like the taste of beer. We used an ultra lite beer and it was awesome. No beer flavor just a great, all around recipe. Will definitely make again. I've never even written a review before but this was so good I couldn't resist. Thank you. Going to go use the rest for pretzels now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Just made theses and they are wonderful. I used water instead of beer and it worked fine. Also I have bulk yeast so I used 2 1/2 teaspoons of yeast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hourglasswman
Photo by stanwoodgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Love, love, love these. Simple to make, just has a lot of steps. I do not use a bread maker, just my Kitchen Aid and I use the dough hook for about 4-5 min. I did not change the recipe at all. They heat up really nice in the microwave the next day. I microwave 1 at at time for 1 1/2 minutes. Husband, kids and grandkids request them all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stanwoodgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These were awesome! Just make sure you find the lowest sodium hotdogs you can find or they will be very salty. I plan on make these many times over. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
What a great idea! My family really enjoyed this. The pretzel dough is perfect. Very easy to but together. The only beer I had in the house was a Guinness so I used that. Will be making these again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Perfect! I am new to this forum and this recipe is very complete with no information lacking. Followed the directions and ingredients exactly and they turned out perfect! I hate beer and don't drink alcohol at all, but used it (Bud Light) anyway and I couldn't taste any beer, just great flavor. Don't worry if they look overly browned because they do not taste burned or hard, but I would start checking on them in 12 minutes if you desire a lighter color. I used angus all beef dogs and they tasted just like those bought in the mall or better. I also made half with tofu pups which are soy dogs for my vegetarian daughter and her family and they also were a big hit with the adults and kids alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Thanks so much for posting this awesome recipe. It was fairly easy to make - a bit detailed, but well worth the effort. Everyone liked them - my 5 year old ate 3! I can't wait to make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
These were a big hit with my family! They were easy to make. I used water and regular unbleached flour. I used all the salt called for and sprinkled a few grains on top after brushing with the egg/water mixture. I used 10 regular hot dogs and 6 veggie dogs (Morning Star Farms). There were some left over scraps which I just tossed in the b.soda water, then baked. They were delicious, as well. I bake whole wheat bread/rolls/pizza almost every week, and out of all the bread dough I've made, this is the easiest I've ever worked with. I don't have a bread machine so did it by hand as always. I used 4 cups of flour plus what I put on the counter as I kneaded the dough. It was like playing with homemade Play Dough! It was such a nice texture. When wrapping the strip of dough around the hot dog, be sure to overlap the first end and pinch closed the last end so they stay together in the water. I made Cheese Dipping Sauce by Jackie Smith and that added a great taste. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Wow my Hubby and his kids LOVED these! And so did I of course :p I DID NOT have a bread machine but I DO have a heavy duty mixer. I did the first 3 steps as directed except I had all the ingredients together in the bowl with the paddle attachment of my mixer until well incorporated. I replaced the paddle with the dough hook and set it on medium low speed for about 6 minutes to knead the dough. After that I covered the dough with plastic wrap and let it sit at room temp for about 1 hour and 15 minutes, until it doubled in size. I did everything else as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlinlilkittie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States