Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MandyLaing
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I made these with water in place of beer and minus the egg wash (a little melted butter in lieu of it). They turned out great and my family and hangers-on gobbled them down like the happy campers they are! I used King Arthur's white whole wheat flour and the resulting dough had both lightness and that great wheat flavor. Also, I used a variety of dogs and have a suggestion: avoid using low fat or soy hotdogs here. Full flavor, full fat is going to get you the best results. The fat helps to cook the inside portion of the pretzel, adding to both the texture and flavor. The others work ok, they just pale in comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyLaing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janis P.
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Wow wow wow. This was absolutely amazing! My husband and kids loved these and so did I! I studied breadmaking in a prestigious school but we've never tackled pretzels that used beer. And since my boys love hot dogs so much...I was desperate to make something with them that will be a complete snack for them when they're at school or work. Well this is it! So easy to make....I have a bread machine but did the kneading on my Kitchenaid mixer which was just fine....I think doing this by hand is ok as well as the though is very forgiving. i let the thought rise for an hour then rolled the dough with a rolling pin then sliced in strips as indicated. Instead of the baking soda bath I used food grade lye used really for pretzels which gave my pretzels a lovely brown color in just 20 minutes of baking. Used sea salt for sprinkling. Thank you for sharing. Will post pictures soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ree Adams Doherty
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Delish. I had to bake them only 12 min, but even the pan @ 15, although darker, was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree Adams Doherty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Super easy and quick!! Everyone loved it!! Tasted excellent the next day too! Definitely a do-over!!!! Thanks for the AWESOME recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
OMG. Its a KEEPER RECIPE. i make it twice a month. I freeze leftovers and its good even cooked in microwave after it. Good quick lunch for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Wow! Today just happened to be a west coast rainy day. So, I thought I would try out this recipes on a few, frozen, partially used packages of hot dogs. I followed the recipe closely with the only change being that I divided the dough into 16 balls and rolled each ball into a rope with which to wrap each hot dog. Having only a dozen hot dogs, I made 4 pretzels out of the remaining dough. The recipe was an amazing success! Thank you for posting it, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was a great project for my daughter and me. We hand-made the dough (let it proof 1 hour), then made our dogs assembly-line style to get them to the oven, using all-beef and turkey dogs. We froze 6 of them and heated them up (about 90 sec in the microwave) over the weekend. Yummy dinner with some Cajun Sweet Potatoes (from this site) and broccoli, and a nice weekend snack. The kids asked if we could make it again and use the dough for soft pretzels (which we WILL DO).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My husband and I made these for New Years Eve. Oh my stars, they were unbelievable! I am not a cook and watched the video consistently until I felt I could try it. The flavor was amazing. The pretzel dough turned out amazing. I am giving this recipe five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Excellent! A little time consuming but well worth it. Don't change a thing on this recipe. Makes even cheap dogs taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Tremblay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Delicious and not too hard. I also used my kitchen aid with a dough hook. It was faster than using the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States