Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I made this recipe using my bread maker on the dough setting (stacking ingredients as suggested in my manual). The dogs were a huge hit with the family and they said they were better then the ones at the movie theater. Will definitely be adding this recipe to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doubletigers
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
These were so good. I can’t believe I made pretzel for the first time. I dried the pretzels with paper towel before I baked them. Instead of salt, I put cheddar cheese on the top. I also put jalapenos on some of them. I will use canned jalapenos instead of the fresh ones next time; also I will put more salt in the dough if I am not going to put salt on the top. For sure I will make these again. Thanks Jan for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubletigers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
These were good. I used parchment paper -- first time ever and the LAST time! ALL of my hotdogs stuck to the paper and ruined the bottoms. Pretzet was nothing outstanding, but good for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
These were soooo easy and soooo delicious! The kids gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My husband and son (3 yr old) loved these! DH kept saying they taste much better than dogs on a plain bun. He loved them with brown spicy mustard. I cut the recipe down to 6 servings; my dough was a little wet but that could have been due to an incorrect calculation. Next time I will use a paper towel to dry the hot dogs before wrapping them to help the dough stick. Thanks for sharing a fun recipe that was a family hit! Served with garlic parm potato wedges and fresh fruit for a simple meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
LOVE these! The pretzel part is top notch and taste just like the hot pretzels you can buy. You must use the parchment paper...no sticking. I baked them at 425 which helped them not be so brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Follow as stated and you HAVE to put in baking soda water, it makes the whole thing work GREAT! These freeze well for later use. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Fantastic! The dough is so easy to work with! Don't be afraid of stretching it if needed to get it all twisted around the dog because it will not break. This is a very elastic dough. I don't have a bread machine so I did it by hand, which worked great. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Thought the dough was a bit too chewy. I would also use less baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was good. The only thing I am going to suggest is that you add the baking soda to the water before it boils. I added it after it boiled, as the recipe stated, and it was like a volcano. The whole pot of water erupted all over the stove top. I had a huge pot, too, and there wasn't too much water. It just 'blew up'. Fortunately, I wasn't burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States