Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very good. Made half recipe and fine for package of dogs. Used 1/3 cup baking soda in 8 cups water and seemed like plenty. Also sprinkling the salt on after brushing with egg, you are able to use much less and still have great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I just made these for my family and they were delicious. Very easy to make. I don't have a bread machine so I copied what another viewer did and used my KA mixer, swapped out the paddle beater with the dough hook after the ingredients were mixed. I let the dough hook knead the dough for about 6 minutes. I used the Kirkland brand (long) hot dogs from Costco and cut each hot dog in half, and used half a strip of dough to wrap around each hot dog. Worked out perfect. I actually got 22 wrapped hot dogs. I love the fact that you can freeze them for later. Great recipe, will make again and again!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUETEE
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Family loved these! Great as leftovers, too. Per suggestion from another, I made the Cheese Dipping Sauce from this website to go along with the Pretzel Dogs and it was really good. Will be putting this into our menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUETEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jameson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Peculiar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
It turned out great!I had no issues making it without a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyhughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These are truly phenomenal. I've made them with beer, ginger ale, water, and today I even tried them by proofing the yeast in milk (no water or beer) because we had to turn the water off as my husband was playing plumber. Unbelievable! Thanks Jan, hats off to the queen of yeast breads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Never tried something like this before. Rave reviews from family and it wasn't that hard. I was hesitant about using beer as I have had "beer battered" foods before and didn't like the taste of beer. We used an ultra lite beer and it was awesome. No beer flavor just a great, all around recipe. Will definitely make again. I've never even written a review before but this was so good I couldn't resist. Thank you. Going to go use the rest for pretzels now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Just made theses and they are wonderful. I used water instead of beer and it worked fine. Also I have bulk yeast so I used 2 1/2 teaspoons of yeast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hourglasswman
Photo by stanwoodgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Love, love, love these. Simple to make, just has a lot of steps. I do not use a bread maker, just my Kitchen Aid and I use the dough hook for about 4-5 min. I did not change the recipe at all. They heat up really nice in the microwave the next day. I microwave 1 at at time for 1 1/2 minutes. Husband, kids and grandkids request them all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stanwoodgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These were awesome! Just make sure you find the lowest sodium hotdogs you can find or they will be very salty. I plan on make these many times over. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
What a great idea! My family really enjoyed this. The pretzel dough is perfect. Very easy to but together. The only beer I had in the house was a Guinness so I used that. Will be making these again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States