Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Let me just add my 5 stars to this great recipe. I've read and heard about it on the Buzz for a long time and today was the day! I cut the recipe in half and used 8 Angus Beef Hotdogs. I'd never made pretzels before and these were fantastic. The beer and butter flavor comes through in the dough and the kosher salt on top is the bomb. We dipped them in simple yellow mustard. My so picky husband even commented (which he hardly EVER does) that these were really good. My jaw dropped, so I want to Thank you Jan for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I used water instead of beer, but these still turned out great. I made it by hand, proofing the yeast first, mixing the remaining, and then letting it rise for about 1 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Very good. I wrapped organic hotdogs & also made bite-sized ones, some with sausage slices & some with jalapeno slices. (Next time I'll try wrapping the jal. ones so that water can't make them mushy; also will try finely chopping them to add to dough as jalapeno tasted great with the pretzel dough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I've made this 3 times since i found it two weeks ago. A big hit with everyone from my 10 month old (tiny bits only) to my husband and my tween nieces. I used lowfat turkey dogs and i had trouble with them swelling way up in the oven, and then deflating and getting all wrinkled. The third time I made the recipe for the kids, I cut the hot dogs in half and i didn't leave any of the hotdog sticking out. They came out perfect! I've also used the leftover dough to make regular "auntie anne's" pretzels. So fabulous, I am addicted!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
These were awesome! My little guy has just discovered soft pretzels and loves them. He said they were so good he said they didn't need ketchup. I made these to freeze for lunches. Thanks for a fun and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Fun and delicious! We loved these for a special Halloween dinner :) I used water, but can't wait to try them with beer instead! **Update- I've made these more than a dozen times...a family favoriye!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I didnt realize these had gotten published so im moving my review from the personal recipe to this one. Just like they are at the Philly pretzel factory. I knew these would be good when I recognized the soft pretzel recipe from Alton Brown on the Food Network. I had made them before. Although I did change the water to a bottle of Corona like you suggested. I did not use a bread machine b/c I dont have one so I let it rise for 1 hr like his version said. I used meat hotdogs and Smart Dog vegetarian protein links and both ways they were excellent. I will be making these again. Thanks for the idea What's for dinner, mom?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Made these for a 4th of July get together with friends. When I was asked to bring hot dogs, they left it up to me as to what to bring, thinking I was going to stay traditional.....hee hee....These were a huge hit, even from the "non hot dog" eaters. I made 20 out of this recipe and still had extra dough. Didn't bring any home and for the first time, I do believe that the hamburgers took a back seat. Thanks so much WFDM for such a great recipe. I'm making more to stock the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
These are super easy to make and taste great (especially if you use Nathan's dogs). My only complaint was that I used parchment paper and the dough stuck so badly that I had to cut the dogs off (try to peel them off and you just end up with a layer of paper stuck to the bottom crust). Next time I will just grease the pans and stay away from the parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Yummy! They turned out great! So pretty & the kiddos & I loved them! We'll do these again for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States