Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I love these!! We all did, DH a little less than me & the boys. I followed the recipe really closely - I did use 1-1/2c whole wheat flour and the rest was bread flour, that worked well. I didn't make 18 pretzel dogs though, just 10 - and half of them we used linguica dogs. I experimented with the rest of the dough and made 'pretzels' with it. I never boiled dough before baking and one review commented that they didn't know what the boiling in baking soda water did for them - it made a big difference. The dough not boiled tasted more like salty bread and the dough we boiled first came out like soft pretzels, was really good! I can't wait to make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
A soft, chewy pretzel wrapped around a hot dog? Yup, it's super yummy. Not only did these turn out great tasting, but they looked great, too. I didn't know how I would do at wrapping the dough around as perfectly as others seemed to do, or how the dough would stay on the hot dog in the water, but I only had 1 dough casualty. These were a huge hit for dinner, and also for lunch the following day. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I boiled half of the wrapped hot dogs and then I just baked the other half without boiling them. We all preferred the non- boiled ones. I do not know the purpose of boiling them but it changed the texture for sure. I will be just baking these in the future. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Great recipe, used hot sausages and they turned out terrific! The whole family helped which made it fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Florence, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Fun, easy and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kedo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
These are very tasty, and the dough is beautiful to work with, but I don't have a bread machine so they were a little more labor intensive for me. As some others mentioned, the bottoms browned much more quickly than the tops. Not sure how ti prevent that. I baked in 2 batches....the second batch I sprinkled some poppy seeds on prior to baking...think they added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Let me just add my 5 stars to this great recipe. I've read and heard about it on the Buzz for a long time and today was the day! I cut the recipe in half and used 8 Angus Beef Hotdogs. I'd never made pretzels before and these were fantastic. The beer and butter flavor comes through in the dough and the kosher salt on top is the bomb. We dipped them in simple yellow mustard. My so picky husband even commented (which he hardly EVER does) that these were really good. My jaw dropped, so I want to Thank you Jan for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I used water instead of beer, but these still turned out great. I made it by hand, proofing the yeast first, mixing the remaining, and then letting it rise for about 1 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Very good. I wrapped organic hotdogs & also made bite-sized ones, some with sausage slices & some with jalapeno slices. (Next time I'll try wrapping the jal. ones so that water can't make them mushy; also will try finely chopping them to add to dough as jalapeno tasted great with the pretzel dough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I've made this 3 times since i found it two weeks ago. A big hit with everyone from my 10 month old (tiny bits only) to my husband and my tween nieces. I used lowfat turkey dogs and i had trouble with them swelling way up in the oven, and then deflating and getting all wrinkled. The third time I made the recipe for the kids, I cut the hot dogs in half and i didn't leave any of the hotdog sticking out. They came out perfect! I've also used the leftover dough to make regular "auntie anne's" pretzels. So fabulous, I am addicted!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States