Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made these yesterday and my family LOVED them! Making a second batch tonight.....using AP flour (I didn't have any bread flour) and two different kinds of beer. But SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These were tasty and fun! I made the dough by hand and wrapped it around kielbasa for a more grown up taste. Topped with spicy, dijon, or just plain yellow mustard these were a big hit! I cleaned up the kitchen while they baked and sat down at the table with my daughter and husband without delay (a rarity in our house). Thanks for the wonderful recipe! I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anissa
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Anyone that is afraid to make these..DON'T be afraid. They could not be easier and the best part is that they are to die for! After Jan's advice, I prepped the dogs up until right before baking just after boiling. Put them in the fridge until I was ready to bake and baked when I got home. Perfect! My guy ate 2 before I even put got them off the pan. The only substitute I made was to use regular AP flour. Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe What's For Dinner, Mom. (P.S. Jan, My freinds that I made these for ate them in seconds flat! Much better than sandwiches..)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duryea, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
It's much easier to make pretzels than l ever knew. These were great...based on a lot of the reviews, I reduced the salt in the dough and used it pretty sparingly on top with the egg wash. I only used half the dough and froze the rest for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Despite having no beer, only a cup of bread flour, and no bread machine, these turned out great. I used water instead of beer, all purpose flour with my remaining bread flour, and kneaded the dough by hand. Everyone was crazy over them! The soft pretzels were wonderful. Even the meat lover of the family was unraveling it from the hot dog and it eating it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This simple recipe turned out really great - they looked as good as they tasted. Some thoughts after making it: - I think I might try reducing the amount of salt in the dough next time since the salt on top of the bun, in addition to the salt in the hot dog made it plenty salty! - If I'm feeling scroungy, I could probably stretch the dough out to cover almost twice as many hot dogs. Everyone agreed the pretzel bread was really good, but we had almost too much in ratio to the hot dog. Fantastic treat! I'll definitely be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisajarrett09
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Every once in awhile I make something that is so delicious that I can't believe that it is the work of my own hands. These delicious dogs are the perfect example of this! Mmm. Mmm. Mmm. I do not own a bread machine so I did knead it by hand for about 10 minutes and then let the dough rise for just over an hour. Perfection! I used a pack of 7 hot dogs and made pretzels out of the rest of the dough. I can't wait to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajarrett09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
had trouble with wrapping the dough around hotdog. i think it was due to the fact the dogs were wet. i will try next time with 5 star weiners or brookside. forgot to add my salt with sugar and water before addding yeast. my fault so will try again. allow 1 1/2 hours for dough to finish in bread machine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe closely, but something must have gone wrong. It was quite a bit of work and it was nothing like a pretzel. I did not particularly enjoy the beer flavor in the bread. I doubt I will make this again. What a disappointment! I had really hoped that this was going to be a keeper. ;(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
What a great treat this is! Mine didn't turn out quite as pretty as the picture, but they sure were delicious! I made only half a recipe of the pretzel dogs, so had some leftover dough. I have frozen it and look forward to using it soon - either to make more pretzel dogs, or to make a small pizza. Mine did get a little too brown. Next time I will check them at about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States