Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These were a hit! I was nervous about doing these for a birthday party because I had no pretzel making experience but I followed recipe as written and everyone loved them. Husband has already asked when I will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Made these a few times always with great success. At times I have replaced the beer with water. Still yummy! After asking about freezing them, WFDM did answer, that one can freeze these, but without the salt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Jan, you are a wizard of all things yeast. This is another great recipe! I followed everything to a 't' and had no problems at all. These are so easy to make it's unbelievable. I'm going to make more to put in the freezer for handy lunches. I only had 12 dogs, so I made pretzel bites out of the excess dough ~ the taste and texture was EXACTLY as a soft pretzel should be. Classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Photo by Kara Fischer
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These are WONDERFUL! I made them last night for NYE and they were a huge hit! I was admittedly a little nervous about making them (working with yeast) but they were surprisingly easy to make! I followed the recipe exactly, no changes. Make sure to pinch those edges, like others have said! Even though a couple of mine came loose, they looked and tasted great! I also liked that even after sitting out for a little bit, the pretzel stayed soft--didn't get hard as a rock. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These were really good! I wanted them to be more appetizer sized so I cut the weiners in half and wrapped them in the dough leaving only one end sticking out of the dough. The recipe made 24 half-sized pretzel dogs with no dough left over. My first batch did stick a bit and got a bit dark on the bottom (even with doubling up the baking sheets). With the second batch I put the egg wash on the rolls before putting them on the baking sheet and they didn't stick at all and the bottoms were not too dark. I will definitely make this recipe again; my teenage son asked me to make some for his school lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
They didnt turn out like I wanted but it was probably my fault. Still tasted good, but not as much like a pretzel as I was hoping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Hopson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Yum Yum Yum...added a 1/2 slice of american cheese when rollling them up. These are better than the mall variety!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
An excellent recipe. I didn't have enough hot dogs when I made this and so there was too much dough for the amount of dog, but everything still tasted ok. I was worried about it cooking in the middle becuse the dough was thicker than it was supposed to be, but that was ok too. In the future I might try wrapping up a bit of cheese in with the hot dog for an added suprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
A little work but a great result. We really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
These were really good and they were good as leftovers too. The family was over and it was just pouring outside so it was a good day for chicken soup and pretzel dogs. I am my own breadmaker, I kneaded for 7 mins and stuck in front of the woodstove for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States