Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Thanks so much for posting this awesome recipe. It was fairly easy to make - a bit detailed, but well worth the effort. Everyone liked them - my 5 year old ate 3! I can't wait to make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
These were a big hit with my family! They were easy to make. I used water and regular unbleached flour. I used all the salt called for and sprinkled a few grains on top after brushing with the egg/water mixture. I used 10 regular hot dogs and 6 veggie dogs (Morning Star Farms). There were some left over scraps which I just tossed in the b.soda water, then baked. They were delicious, as well. I bake whole wheat bread/rolls/pizza almost every week, and out of all the bread dough I've made, this is the easiest I've ever worked with. I don't have a bread machine so did it by hand as always. I used 4 cups of flour plus what I put on the counter as I kneaded the dough. It was like playing with homemade Play Dough! It was such a nice texture. When wrapping the strip of dough around the hot dog, be sure to overlap the first end and pinch closed the last end so they stay together in the water. I made Cheese Dipping Sauce by Jackie Smith and that added a great taste. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Wow my Hubby and his kids LOVED these! And so did I of course :p I DID NOT have a bread machine but I DO have a heavy duty mixer. I did the first 3 steps as directed except I had all the ingredients together in the bowl with the paddle attachment of my mixer until well incorporated. I replaced the paddle with the dough hook and set it on medium low speed for about 6 minutes to knead the dough. After that I covered the dough with plastic wrap and let it sit at room temp for about 1 hour and 15 minutes, until it doubled in size. I did everything else as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlinlilkittie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Great recipe! My husband loves these. He eats about 4-5 when I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AddiesMom6

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sam1970
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
MADE THESE WITH MICHELOB ULTRA LITE BEER IN MY BREAD MACHINE AND ALL I CAN SAY IS YUMMMMO MY FAMILY LOVED THESE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Good for what they are, you can wrap it up, but it's still a hotdog! The kids liked them, and the dough was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Awesome! I followed the recipe exactly and will soon be making them again! I got 19 dogs from the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
these were good but I used cheap hotdogs, not a good idea. Would have been great with better dogs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
We dipped them into FritoLay Brand mild cheddar cheese dip! Amazing! And I had to make them two days in a row they were so good! Granted half of the pretzel bread the first time I made into pretzels which non-pretzel lovers loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This IS NOT an easy recipe! This took FOREVER and produced mediocre results. NOTE: You need a bread maker for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zip Ties Are Rad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States