Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Despite having no beer, only a cup of bread flour, and no bread machine, these turned out great. I used water instead of beer, all purpose flour with my remaining bread flour, and kneaded the dough by hand. Everyone was crazy over them! The soft pretzels were wonderful. Even the meat lover of the family was unraveling it from the hot dog and it eating it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This simple recipe turned out really great - they looked as good as they tasted. Some thoughts after making it: - I think I might try reducing the amount of salt in the dough next time since the salt on top of the bun, in addition to the salt in the hot dog made it plenty salty! - If I'm feeling scroungy, I could probably stretch the dough out to cover almost twice as many hot dogs. Everyone agreed the pretzel bread was really good, but we had almost too much in ratio to the hot dog. Fantastic treat! I'll definitely be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisajarrett09
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Every once in awhile I make something that is so delicious that I can't believe that it is the work of my own hands. These delicious dogs are the perfect example of this! Mmm. Mmm. Mmm. I do not own a bread machine so I did knead it by hand for about 10 minutes and then let the dough rise for just over an hour. Perfection! I used a pack of 7 hot dogs and made pretzels out of the rest of the dough. I can't wait to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajarrett09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
had trouble with wrapping the dough around hotdog. i think it was due to the fact the dogs were wet. i will try next time with 5 star weiners or brookside. forgot to add my salt with sugar and water before addding yeast. my fault so will try again. allow 1 1/2 hours for dough to finish in bread machine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe closely, but something must have gone wrong. It was quite a bit of work and it was nothing like a pretzel. I did not particularly enjoy the beer flavor in the bread. I doubt I will make this again. What a disappointment! I had really hoped that this was going to be a keeper. ;(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
What a great treat this is! Mine didn't turn out quite as pretty as the picture, but they sure were delicious! I made only half a recipe of the pretzel dogs, so had some leftover dough. I have frozen it and look forward to using it soon - either to make more pretzel dogs, or to make a small pizza. Mine did get a little too brown. Next time I will check them at about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Everyone absoslutely loved these! Followed the recipe and will be making these a lot during the upcoming football season. I was a little worried going in because I have very little (next to none) experience with yeast but the instructions are very well written and they were so much easier than I imagined. Made half with Ballpark all beef franks and half with Hebrew National brand (family has different pref.) and half with salt and half without. All were equally good and all eaten quickly! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipes, What's for dinner, mom?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I love these!! We all did, DH a little less than me & the boys. I followed the recipe really closely - I did use 1-1/2c whole wheat flour and the rest was bread flour, that worked well. I didn't make 18 pretzel dogs though, just 10 - and half of them we used linguica dogs. I experimented with the rest of the dough and made 'pretzels' with it. I never boiled dough before baking and one review commented that they didn't know what the boiling in baking soda water did for them - it made a big difference. The dough not boiled tasted more like salty bread and the dough we boiled first came out like soft pretzels, was really good! I can't wait to make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
A soft, chewy pretzel wrapped around a hot dog? Yup, it's super yummy. Not only did these turn out great tasting, but they looked great, too. I didn't know how I would do at wrapping the dough around as perfectly as others seemed to do, or how the dough would stay on the hot dog in the water, but I only had 1 dough casualty. These were a huge hit for dinner, and also for lunch the following day. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I boiled half of the wrapped hot dogs and then I just baked the other half without boiling them. We all preferred the non- boiled ones. I do not know the purpose of boiling them but it changed the texture for sure. I will be just baking these in the future. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States