Jan's Pretzel Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
had trouble with wrapping the dough around hotdog. i think it was due to the fact the dogs were wet. i will try next time with 5 star weiners or brookside. forgot to add my salt with sugar and water before addding yeast. my fault so will try again. allow 1 1/2 hours for dough to finish in bread machine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe closely, but something must have gone wrong. It was quite a bit of work and it was nothing like a pretzel. I did not particularly enjoy the beer flavor in the bread. I doubt I will make this again. What a disappointment! I had really hoped that this was going to be a keeper. ;(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
What a great treat this is! Mine didn't turn out quite as pretty as the picture, but they sure were delicious! I made only half a recipe of the pretzel dogs, so had some leftover dough. I have frozen it and look forward to using it soon - either to make more pretzel dogs, or to make a small pizza. Mine did get a little too brown. Next time I will check them at about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Everyone absoslutely loved these! Followed the recipe and will be making these a lot during the upcoming football season. I was a little worried going in because I have very little (next to none) experience with yeast but the instructions are very well written and they were so much easier than I imagined. Made half with Ballpark all beef franks and half with Hebrew National brand (family has different pref.) and half with salt and half without. All were equally good and all eaten quickly! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipes, What's for dinner, mom?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I love these!! We all did, DH a little less than me & the boys. I followed the recipe really closely - I did use 1-1/2c whole wheat flour and the rest was bread flour, that worked well. I didn't make 18 pretzel dogs though, just 10 - and half of them we used linguica dogs. I experimented with the rest of the dough and made 'pretzels' with it. I never boiled dough before baking and one review commented that they didn't know what the boiling in baking soda water did for them - it made a big difference. The dough not boiled tasted more like salty bread and the dough we boiled first came out like soft pretzels, was really good! I can't wait to make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
A soft, chewy pretzel wrapped around a hot dog? Yup, it's super yummy. Not only did these turn out great tasting, but they looked great, too. I didn't know how I would do at wrapping the dough around as perfectly as others seemed to do, or how the dough would stay on the hot dog in the water, but I only had 1 dough casualty. These were a huge hit for dinner, and also for lunch the following day. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I boiled half of the wrapped hot dogs and then I just baked the other half without boiling them. We all preferred the non- boiled ones. I do not know the purpose of boiling them but it changed the texture for sure. I will be just baking these in the future. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Great recipe, used hot sausages and they turned out terrific! The whole family helped which made it fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Florence, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Fun, easy and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kedo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
These are very tasty, and the dough is beautiful to work with, but I don't have a bread machine so they were a little more labor intensive for me. As some others mentioned, the bottoms browned much more quickly than the tops. Not sure how ti prevent that. I baked in 2 batches....the second batch I sprinkled some poppy seeds on prior to baking...think they added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States