Jan's Jalapeno Popper Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is a delicious pizza and a nice change from one with tomato sauce. I followed the recipe all the way and it was perfect. I really loved the bacon on the pizza. It does have all the flavors of a jalapeno popper. Thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, and made a jelly-roll sized rectangle pizza out of it, and had a little "sauce" left over. I can't handle too much heat, so I soaked the jalapeno rings in cool water for about 1/2 an hour (I had read somewhere that that tames the heat). They were perfect as appetizer squares!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is my original review on this recipe before it was published and I have since made it at least a dozen times: "This might be the best 'specialty' pizza I've ever had in my life....and I can't believe it came from home. My daughter even said I could make money on this and she made it clear that this will be a new 'regular' around here!! I used a pre-made Boboli crust for ease, but we are extra excited to try this on a homemade crust next time. I followed the recipe exactly. No adjustments needed:)" We LOVE it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made two different pizza's for the SuperBowl this year with this being one of them and it was a huge hit. I made exactly as written and would not change a thing. The onions sauteed in the bacon drippings gave it such a nice smokey flavor. I was rushed and didn't take the time to take the seeds out of the peppers as I normally would have but the cheese and sour cream tamed it down enough that I didn't really need to. This was delish! The boys at the party devoured this before I was even able to take a picture which means I will just have to make it again soon :) Thank you for sharing Jan. I miss seeing you and some of the others around these parts. I plan on "popping" in more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
It really is all the goodness of jalapeño poppers on a pizza! I made my own crust and used the topping from this recipe. My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made this for Recipe Group. Of course I tweaked (= I used red onion, turkey bacon, and two 4 oz cans of diced jalapeños. I had pre-cooked my bacon, so I used olive oil and butter to sauté the onion and garlic. Then I added the chopped, cooked bacon and the jalapeños, before stirring in the spices and cream cheese. I made a 2 ingredient pizza crust =D and, following Molly's lead, and stuffed it with string cheese, split in half lengthwise. I spread the cream cheese mixture on the crust, then sprinkled the cheeses and parsley over the top. All my tweaks worked fine, and it looked prettier than I expected (= But it set my mouth on fire! Yow! Next time I will use 1/2-1 can of jalapeños! One last, bizarre sounding tweak: after a couple bites, I spread a thin layer of strawberry jelly on the pizza [that's what I put on jalapeño poppers and the jalapeño popper grilled cheese].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanMcD
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
OMG! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 25, January 2014 ~ This was my first time making jalapeño popper pizza, but it won't be my last time. We loved this pizza! I used duboo's 'Homemade Pizza Dough' personal recipe for the crust, which I stuffed with string cheese. I was worried that my husband wouldn't like the pizza because of the cream cheese and the sour cream (2 ingredients he doesn't like) but with the sautéed onions,seasonings, bacon and jalapeños, it was a great blend which he loved. I used round sandwich bacon and it doesn't shrink up as much as long, standard bacon and it worked really well on this pizza. Thanks Jan, for another fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
We were really excited about trying this recipe. I followed the recipe with one adjustment. The recipe says to saute the onion in the bacon drippings without mentioning draining. I drained the majority of the drippings away, leaving just enough to skim coat the skillet. Even with that I wish I had drained more and I do think if I were a beginning cook that I might not have known to do that. There was something about the mixture of seasonings that didn't work for us, but we couldn't figure out if it was too much of one or not enough of another. The main criticism we had was too much cheese. It seemed to overwhelm the other ingredients so you had heat and you had cheese while other flavors faded into the backdrop. We like the idea of this enough to keep playing with it but as written, for us, it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Recipe Group Selection for January 25, 2014 – This was a huge hit in our house. If you’re looking for a great pizza for your Super Bowl party, look no further. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States