Jan's Fresh Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
If you don't have time for a cobbler or crusted pie, (which are my favorites for berries) this is perfect for a refreshing pie. I would recommend making a homemade graham crust, which IMO, is far better. There is no comparison with the store bought with all the added junk they put in them. I pound each unopened pkg of crackers with my fist to break them up, then dump the entire pkg in my ancient 'Little Oscar' processor. It just takes a couple grinds and the crumbs are perfect. I melt the butter in the microwave in the pie plate, mix the crumbs and sugar in a bowl, then stir them into the melted butter, and press it down with my hand. (Yes, I lick me fingers afterwards.) You can bake or chill the crusts, but I always bake mine. Its so worth it in flavor to make your own. The blueberry filling holds together nicely, and slices clean. Take the pie out of the frig about 10 min. before serving, so the crust can be sliced easily. I use real whipping cream, but you can top it with the faux chemical stuff if you wish. The pie was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by playswithpaper
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My go to recipe! Just-like The Pie Plate's fresh blueberry pie. For those of us who don't like cooked fruit. I always make 2, so I can gift one as a thank you or special treat; or keep one for us when bringing this pie to a party. I cut the sugar to 3/4th & added an extra 2 cups of fresh berries today. I've made this with strawberries too. Have also used other jello flavors when I'm out of lemon; lemon is the best but the others do fine in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
beautiful presentation. had just picked the berries and wanted a recipe without baking in order to showcase them. Very different than a baked pie, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
WOW. I've never written a review before, but this pie was so good that I had to write. I use AllRecipes constantly & have enjoyed many good recipes, but this one blew my mind(and taste-buds) for several reasons: 1. Simplicity: Very few ingredients, quick, not-too-messy assembly, and oh-so-easy 2. Calories: Not many tasty pie recipes are under 300 calories for 1/8 of a pie. 3. Flavor: Rich as all-get-out--The graham cracker crust (I made mine homemade off the box of graham cracker crumbs) gave the blueberry/lemon-gelatin filling a very surprising and deliciously rich taste. 4. Beauty: Using fresh blueberries and not having a top crust made this pie so pretty. Every blueberry could be seen in all its blueberry-glory. Very pretty. I would only say that the yellow of the lemon gelatin was a little scary-egg-yolk looking. I wish it were clear rather than yellow, but you can't really blame the recipe for that. I used freshly frozen blueberries and just defrosted them, so don't be afraid to do that. Great one, AllRecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Greeat Summer Pie. Love blueberries. I also put in blackberries. Everyone raved! I imagine that any type of berry would work well. Easy dessert and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This pie is wonderful! When I tasted the glaze before I put it on the berries, I almost didn't make it. It was very candy like in flavor and I was sure it would be awful...but I truste the many reviews and made it. I put mine in a prepared cooki crust. We love it! Will make it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very good. Very pretty. I used a crust of 1 cup flour, 1 stick of butter and 3T of sugar. Mix till crumbly and pat into pie plate. Bake at 375 for 12 minutes. Cool. Don't know how the graham cracker would be but this crust was still not soggy when we ate the leftover pie 2 days later. The blueberries were still pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I didn't have lemon gelatin but I had cranberry and it is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Make your own crust - lots of good recipes here on Allrecipe. This isn't really a traditional "blueberry pie." It's more like a fresh fruit tart. It's delicious, but some fresh whipped cream is really needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
We love that even with the simplicity of this recipe it delivers great taste! It's a perfect summer time treat since it preserves the berries in their natural state so well. I haven't tried it yet, but I'm betting other berries could be successfully substituted as well for other taste sensations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States