Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made the cake exactly according to recipe. I did bake this in a greased 9x13 baking pan for just over 30 minutes. After it cooled, I made my own chocolate buttermilk frosting to spread over the top. Great basic homemade cake that used on hand ingredients and that's perfectly chocolate-y. To be honest, the frosting I paired with it really took it over the top. Just what I needed. I'll use this again in a couple days for my oldest boy's chocolate birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Love this recipe! my absolute favorite chocolate cake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Superb! It was so moist and delicious. I will definitely be making this again. It was wonderful with the vanilla chocolate powdered sugar frosting recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Should be called "school cafeteria chocolate cake." I made it exactly like recipe said and even my 10 yr old son said it tasted like the one at school. I bake often and this is the worst cake I have ever baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is the best ever chocolate cake I have ever made from scratch. It did take a little longer to cook than directed, I kept a close eye on it. I added a whoopie pie filling onto the top and poured a chocolate ganache glaze onto that. YUP! This is a keeper! Bye, bye, Betty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Easy and delicious. Had no buttermilk on hand, but used sour cream cut with milk and it turned out nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Good, not the best ever though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I don't often write reviews because I often change things in the recipe and don't like to rate my changes. I made this cake as the recipe stated for a friend's birthday, and it was fantastic! Moist, almost fudgey, but not dense -- I baked in 2 8 inch round pans for 34mins. I frosted it with the "Creamy chocolate frosting" recipe from this site. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Let me start by saying I am a food writer and an excellent cook, but I am NOT a good baker. This recipe made me think I actually can bake...the cake is easy to make and tastes great! I followed the recipe as written, using two round cake pans. When they were done (about 36 minutes in my oven), I let them cool, then trimmed them and stacked them together on a cake stand. I covered the stacked cake with a large inverted metal bowl and let it sit overnight. The next day, I frosted the cake using the Special Buttercream recipe on this site and finished it with a dusting of cocoa powder. I was nervous that the cake would dry out overnight, but it turned out to be a stroke of genius. Letting the cake sit overnight fused the two layers together without me having to put any frosting in between them. It also made the cake more dense and fudgy, while still retaining a nice cake texture and good crumb. My husband always wants a "plain chocolate cake with white buttercream frosting" on his birthday, and this is THE recipe he now wants me to make him for all the years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was a moist, solid cake that the company all complimented. Maybe another reviewer has noted that the ingredients call for water but in the steps it refers to BOILING water. Note: I would NOT use boiling water or it would cook the eggs. (I used cold water.) This will be a cake I make again next time I want a no-fail, good-tasting, quick chocolate cake. [The power went out for 60 minutes - just AFTER I'd mixed the buttermilk into the batter! After waiting the hour, cake still baked fine!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States