Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
So simple, quick, and delicious! Not too sweet at all which is the way my family likes it!!!! Cooled to be level which was great because I made 2 to add filling! Thanx for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I've never made a cake from scratch (except for carrot cake) but all I had in the pantry was white cake mix and my son wanted chocolate for his birthday cake, so I had to turn to allrecipes.com for help. THIS CAKE IS AMAZING. I changed nothing except making buttermilk with milk and vinegar, followed the directions to a tee, and it turned out great. It is super moist, even after leaving it to cool out of the pan overnight. And I've never had a cake come out of the pan so easily. Betty Crocker may still have my business for white cakes, but never again for chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
The cake was very moist and chocolatey, but has a deffinate baking soda flavor. Tasted too much like the boiling water no stir chocolate lava cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetQuicky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is the best of the top rated chocolate cakes on this site. It uses more flour and less cocoa, no hot coffee, no vanilla, and no baking powder compared to the Black Magic cake from this site. It still uses the all-important buttermilk, and is so much simpler. But the flavor is a lot better! I used a top-quality cocoa powder and unsalted, sweet cream butter. (That really should be edited in the ingredient list...ultra important!) I frosted this with a simple buttercream (unsalted butter, powdered sugar, cocoa powder, and milk) to rave reviews. It's a great, standard, chocolate cake and is SO MUCH BETTER than any boxed mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Taste was mediocre but the consistency was terrible. It broke up into crumbs when I frosted it and was nothing but a nightmare. The only frosting I would recommend for this cake is whipped cream frosting - anything else and you'll have a messy pile of junk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I had to take a minute to put a review in here because this was such an exceptionally nice cake. I made it in a 9x13 and followed instructions exactly. It rose high in the pan and had such a lovely texture and taste. I don't think you can ask for anything more in a chocolate cake. I frosted it with a "5 min fudge" frosting that you boil. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
better than some restaurant cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I had the cake in the oven for 10 minutes before realizing I had forgotten the boiling water. Luckily, it's still okay without! ...Just in case anyone else does the same ;) Otherwise, I followed this recipe exactly, other than making my own buttermilk with milk and lemon juice. Tip: If you're decorating the cake beyond a simple layer of icing, I would definitely recommend glazing it first as it falls apart fairly easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliaem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Wow! This is so delicious, soft and chocolately. I just did a trial run of cupcakes, I plan on making the cake for my son's birthday party this weekend. I've never had a cake from scratch turn out so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Wasn't impressed with this cake. I followed instructions to a T and it turned out way to dense and lacked a chocolate taste. It didn't really rise either. I won't make again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywood21691

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States