Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Get out of town! This recipe is amazing and super easy to make. I searched for a while and came accross several delicious looking (5 star recipe)cakes that required "box of chocolate cake mix".........ummmmm the whole purpose of searching for a recip on here is to NOT buy a cake mix. So I came accross this fabulous recipe, and I am very pleased. I did add a heaping spoonful of Nestle Dark Roast instant coffee to the boiled water, and did not have buttermilk on hand so I looked up a quick recipe, just add 4 1/2 teaspoons of white vinegar to the cup of milk and let it sit for 10-15 minutes. Mix it up and bake for recommended time. It was moist, chocolatey, and delicious! My three boys loved it and also my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this cake yesterday and got rave reviews from my family! This cake was so moist and delicious, melt in your mouth deliciousness! I used the best chocolate frosting recipe from this site as well. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Love this recipe. I actually used it for a completion and won second place. The only change I made was to use coffee instead of water. It made it so moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This is hands down the best chocolate cake I ever eaten! I've made it four times and everyone whose tried it has loved it. Thanks mom71.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Turned out great. Used vanilla coffee creamer vs buttermilk. Didn't have any on hand. 1st time my son made a homemade cake at home. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Very easy prep and delicious results! I made cupcakes with this recipe. I got a perfect two dozen and a few more just for me. If you are making cupcakes, fill cup 3/4 full and bake for 20-22 minutes. Like another user, I substituted 1 cup of freshly brewed coffee for the water. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This cake is easy to make and the ingredients are always on hand. I do not use or like buttermilk so never buy it but 1 tablespoon vinegar in one cup milk and that has always worked for me as buttermilk. I had coffee on hand so I used that instead of the water. This cake is incredibly moist and delicious. Thanks Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I made this cake last night, it was amazing! Moist, perfect amount of chocolate and paired it with a peanut butter frosting. My husbands favorite for his birthday cake, will make again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This cake is melt in your mouth great! I have made this twice and both times the flavor has been excellent. I have had trouble with it sticking to the pan both times even though I sprayed well and my cakes usually don't stick to those pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
PERFECT....for those of you who say there could be more of a "chocolate" flavor use hot coffee instead of the water. There are only 2 of us so I cut this in half easily and baked it in a 9X9 pan and flipped it out after baking and let it cool.....I then cut the cake in half and made 1/2 a chocolate layer cake w/chocolate butter cream frosting. As I said....PERFECT! Thank you so much for sharing this amazing and super simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States