Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I made the recipe as is. I made a pan of cupcakes (12) and a 10 inch round cake. The cupcakes burned a tad but the cake turned out perfect. Both were moist and delicious even with the bottom of them a little burned tasting. I used a triple chocolate fudge frosting that had tiny chips in from the store. It went great together. My husband died and went to heaven. He ate about half of the cake that night. He said it almost tasted like the thick, dense Italian style cakes from specialty bakeries. We will make this again for sure. The reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because it was almost too much for me. One tiny piece for me was way more than enough and usually I can down chocolate like its nothing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This cake was amazing!!! It was very moist and had great flavor. I fell in love with this recipe and I'm not even a chocolate lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Get out of town! This recipe is amazing and super easy to make. I searched for a while and came accross several delicious looking (5 star recipe)cakes that required "box of chocolate cake mix".........ummmmm the whole purpose of searching for a recip on here is to NOT buy a cake mix. So I came accross this fabulous recipe, and I am very pleased. I did add a heaping spoonful of Nestle Dark Roast instant coffee to the boiled water, and did not have buttermilk on hand so I looked up a quick recipe, just add 4 1/2 teaspoons of white vinegar to the cup of milk and let it sit for 10-15 minutes. Mix it up and bake for recommended time. It was moist, chocolatey, and delicious! My three boys loved it and also my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this cake yesterday and got rave reviews from my family! This cake was so moist and delicious, melt in your mouth deliciousness! I used the best chocolate frosting recipe from this site as well. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Love this recipe. I actually used it for a completion and won second place. The only change I made was to use coffee instead of water. It made it so moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This is hands down the best chocolate cake I ever eaten! I've made it four times and everyone whose tried it has loved it. Thanks mom71.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Turned out great. Used vanilla coffee creamer vs buttermilk. Didn't have any on hand. 1st time my son made a homemade cake at home. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeAnn Thompsonoge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Very easy prep and delicious results! I made cupcakes with this recipe. I got a perfect two dozen and a few more just for me. If you are making cupcakes, fill cup 3/4 full and bake for 20-22 minutes. Like another user, I substituted 1 cup of freshly brewed coffee for the water. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This cake is easy to make and the ingredients are always on hand. I do not use or like buttermilk so never buy it but 1 tablespoon vinegar in one cup milk and that has always worked for me as buttermilk. I had coffee on hand so I used that instead of the water. This cake is incredibly moist and delicious. Thanks Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I made this cake last night, it was amazing! Moist, perfect amount of chocolate and paired it with a peanut butter frosting. My husbands favorite for his birthday cake, will make again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States