Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Turned out great. Used vanilla coffee creamer vs buttermilk. Didn't have any on hand. 1st time my son made a homemade cake at home. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Very easy prep and delicious results! I made cupcakes with this recipe. I got a perfect two dozen and a few more just for me. If you are making cupcakes, fill cup 3/4 full and bake for 20-22 minutes. Like another user, I substituted 1 cup of freshly brewed coffee for the water. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This cake is easy to make and the ingredients are always on hand. I do not use or like buttermilk so never buy it but 1 tablespoon vinegar in one cup milk and that has always worked for me as buttermilk. I had coffee on hand so I used that instead of the water. This cake is incredibly moist and delicious. Thanks Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I made this cake last night, it was amazing! Moist, perfect amount of chocolate and paired it with a peanut butter frosting. My husbands favorite for his birthday cake, will make again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This cake is melt in your mouth great! I have made this twice and both times the flavor has been excellent. I have had trouble with it sticking to the pan both times even though I sprayed well and my cakes usually don't stick to those pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
PERFECT....for those of you who say there could be more of a "chocolate" flavor use hot coffee instead of the water. There are only 2 of us so I cut this in half easily and baked it in a 9X9 pan and flipped it out after baking and let it cool.....I then cut the cake in half and made 1/2 a chocolate layer cake w/chocolate butter cream frosting. As I said....PERFECT! Thank you so much for sharing this amazing and super simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoloBear
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
It wasn't love at first bite, but this is a decent recipe for a moist, chocolate cake when you need one. Seems like it's missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoloBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
My daughter picked this out for her birthday cake. She didn't want a dark chocolate cake or one made with coffee she wanted "just a normal chocolate cake, ya know?".... as for me-I liked the name ;) This is an easy recipe to put together and it baked up nicely. I used a tube pan and baked for 35 minutes. The cake has a nice, moist texture and a perfect chocolate flavor. We only tasted the cuttings from trimming the cake for decorating but I am sure looking forward to a whole slice of this cake! If this was not already "Jan's" chocolate cake it sure would be now! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was a good tasting cake, that baked very high. It is more dense so you got more of a flat top which we wanted for decorating reasons. Only note I have is that it took about an extra 15 minutes of baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUE69

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
WOW!!! This cake was amazingly moist. I added 2tsp of vanilla and substituted 1 cup of good fresh hot coffee for the boiling water. I also let my eggs and butter come to room temp. My cake was completely baked in 50mins. I made a chocolate cream cheese frosting to complete this wonderfully moist and flavorful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tangy108

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dinwiddie, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States