Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
This is still my all-time favorite chocolate cake! It has never failed me and always gets raves! The chocolate flavor is directly proportional to the quality of cocoa powder used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This cake is soooooo moist. The batter looked like pudding. It was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
No more Betty-in-the-box mixes for me. This cake is great! I, too, subbed hot coffee for the boiling water then stirred in about 1/2 C mini chocolate chips before pouring into a Bundt pan (baked for 38 min). Once the cake cooled, I cut it in half horizontally and made about a 1 1/2" "trench" in the bottom half which I then filled with Pastry Cream (also on this site). A simple chocolate glaze completed the top of the cake. Thanks Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Very moist cake and delicious..... really a "no-fail chocolate cake". Thanks for sharing Jan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
A very nice, heavy chocolate cake. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon E. Hendrickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Excellent cake! Very chocolately and moist. I didn't have buttermilk, so I subbed whole milk soured with a tablespoon of white vineagar. I also subbed a cup of hot coffee instead of the hot water. Very tasty! I frosted the cake with 'Creamy Chocolate Frosting' and put a layer of Raspberry Jam in the middle. I got lots of compliments! Definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This recipe is awesome! Very easy for an neophyte baker like myself, also absolutely delicious and long lasting. I've never tasted a better chocolate cake and it's only the second one I ever baked myself. I added a frosting but it's not neccesary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This is a very good chocolate cake. I had to cook it for at least 45 minutes. Don't worry if it seems too thin after mixing in the water. It turned out wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I made this for my husbands birthday and it is the best chocolate cake I have ever made! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
i thought this recipe was perfect. i made it in miniature bunt cake pans and it turned out great for individual servings. my freind and i needed a chocolate cake recipe for new years with only two eggs and this one was great. thanks jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States