Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This is not a deep, dark chocolate cake, but it sure isn't short on rich chocolate flavor! This is an incredibly moist, stick to the tines of your fork cake, that baked nicely in two 9-inch layers in 25 minutes. I didn't bother with the parchment paper and it released from the pans easily just sprayed with Baker's Joy. I didn't change a thing with this recipe, and won't the next time around either. It is delicious just as written. Frosted with "Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting," also from this site, this was a cake I'd be proud to serve anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
help!! I made this exactly as instructed, thinking that this would be a no-fail cake, and I was wrong! I don't know what I did wrong, as I said I followed everything written, can anyone tell me why it turned out sticky? It's thick and didn't raise much, and you can see it's so moist inside it's not even a cake, not even a brownie, it's just a hard dense block of black stuff! :( So disappointed~ someone please tell me what could cause this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CABNOLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Love this recipe. I've tried other chocolate cakes from this site but this one is by far my FAVORITE. The cake is so moist and delicious with a great texture. In my opinion, it's the perfect chocolate cake. I don't have any of the problems other's have mentioned. I'm sure the problems are not with the recipe but it's that something is being done wrong. Make sure to measure your ingredients correctly. NEVER EVER scoop flour, you have to spoon it into a level measuring cup and level it off. Scooping leads to too much flour in the cake which equals dry, crumbly..ect.. Be sure to level off the baking soda as well..If you taste baking soda in the cake you probably used too much. Cream the butter and sugar WELL. You cannot substitute the buttermilk in this recipe with regular milk UNLESS you add a tbs of lemon juice or white vinegar to it. Beat eggs in one at a time, mixing each one in completely. When alternately adding flour and milk, start and end with the flour. Also, DON'T OVERBAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Excellent cake! Very chocolately and moist. I didn't have buttermilk, so I subbed whole milk soured with a tablespoon of white vineagar. I also subbed a cup of hot coffee instead of the hot water. Very tasty! I frosted the cake with 'Creamy Chocolate Frosting' and put a layer of Raspberry Jam in the middle. I got lots of compliments! Definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe for a moist rich chocolate cake! I made cupcakes for a fourth of July party, and they were a huge hit! I followed the recipe exactly, but they cooked in only 10 minutes. I iced them with red, white, and blue butter cream icing. I think the best tip for chocolate cake is to be sure to watch the time carefully. If you over-bake it, the results are dry and bland. If you time it right, this cake is perfect! My husband absolutely loved it! I will use this recipe from now on as my basic chocolate cake! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Absolutely butt blowing! I loved it! I made it for my mother, for my boyfriend, it rules! I used chocolate ganache, a rich icing, which complements very well the moist texture of this butt blowing cake. Fun for the whole family! One thing I should mention - it took nearly an hour and fifteen minutes for this cake to cook. I ran the toothpick test a few times until it was just right. Don't be afraid to leave it in the oven until it is done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I made this cake just as instructed. It looked beautiful and was done in 40 min. It just tasted bland. Sorry. I wanted to make a cake with some leftover buttermilk I had. I guess frosting would make up for it? I like my cakes really fudgy and chocolate tasting this one did not pass my test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
No more Betty-in-the-box mixes for me. This cake is great! I, too, subbed hot coffee for the boiling water then stirred in about 1/2 C mini chocolate chips before pouring into a Bundt pan (baked for 38 min). Once the cake cooled, I cut it in half horizontally and made about a 1 1/2" "trench" in the bottom half which I then filled with Pastry Cream (also on this site). A simple chocolate glaze completed the top of the cake. Thanks Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This is the first cake I ever baked from scratch, and it was exactly as she said -- no-fail and excellent. (I even mixed things in the wrong order and it still turned out well.) I didn't have buttermilk so I used a cup of whole milk + a tablespoon of lemon juice, but otherwise I used the recipe's ingredients. It came out moist with the perfect density, and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
This is still my all-time favorite chocolate cake! It has never failed me and always gets raves! The chocolate flavor is directly proportional to the quality of cocoa powder used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States