Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MsLisaKY
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I made this cake up sizing the servings size to 72 I made 3- 8' layers. In between the layers I frosted then put a layer of cherry pie filing,alternating frosting,cherry pie filling.this cake was very tasty. I would make this again. note when you up size to 72 as i did,it would have made 3-9" cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
good cake, but it wasnt chocolatey enough. i put less boiled water because it was too liquidy enough and added 1/2 cup more cocoa powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
SO moist. Made this for my co-worker's birthday and it's probably the best cake I've ever made (I love it and I'm not much of a cake person). UPDATE: I made this lactose-free with Smart Balance Light margarine and buttermilk made from 1 tbs vinegar and 1 c Lactaid milk. Still delicious. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bonnie
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made this exact cake for a friends birthday and lets just say that there were only five people at the party and at the end of the party there was only 2 slices left of an 8 inch round double layer cake. I made this cake exactly like the picture. I also took it up a notch by adding couble fudge icing in the middle and on top of the cake. I am planning to make it again for a baby shower. I plan to incorporate some peanut butter icing instead of chocolate. If i could give this top rating out of a five. It would be a seven and 3/4. just three words OFF THE CHARTS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Not very chocolatey. Next time, I'll use 1/2 cup of veg oil instead of all that butter. I think between the lack of cocoa powder, the extra bulk of alot of flour for a cake and the buttermilk, you could do alot more. Maybe try heating some bittersweet chocolate in the double boiler and mixing it in with the cake. Either that or just go to a recipe that works like Hershey's.. just love that cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is the best cake I have tasted and it was easy to make. All my friends love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Wow! Very moist! So yummie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susana
Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This wasn't as chocolatey as I like. I may add a bit more cocoa next time. A good recipe though. Very easy. You definetly need to spray your pans/muffin cups. I forgot and had some sticking issues. My fault though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
GREAT! This cake is an actual no fail cake! I substituted the butter milk with some 2% milk and a tsp of vinegar. This cake is not too rich or too thick, it is perfectly moist, and has the right amount of sweetness. I'm saving this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Shum
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This cake is very moist and chocolatey. For the hot water I used fresh brewed coffee. This was a very good cake that my whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States