Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I gave it three stars because I didn't like it, but other folks who ate it thought it was the best ever! It was way too "densely moist" for my taste, if that makes sense. I like my cake to be a little fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kprete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
It's a moist & spongy cake, however the choco taste is not very strong. I will try to add choco chips or choco icing next time. And I think 1C water is too much, I just use 1/2C and the texture come out perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made the cake exactly according to recipe. I did bake this in a greased 9x13 baking pan for just over 30 minutes. After it cooled, I made my own chocolate buttermilk frosting to spread over the top. Great basic homemade cake that used on hand ingredients and that's perfectly chocolate-y. To be honest, the frosting I paired with it really took it over the top. Just what I needed. I'll use this again in a couple days for my oldest boy's chocolate birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Love this recipe! my absolute favorite chocolate cake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Superb! It was so moist and delicious. I will definitely be making this again. It was wonderful with the vanilla chocolate powdered sugar frosting recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Should be called "school cafeteria chocolate cake." I made it exactly like recipe said and even my 10 yr old son said it tasted like the one at school. I bake often and this is the worst cake I have ever baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is the best ever chocolate cake I have ever made from scratch. It did take a little longer to cook than directed, I kept a close eye on it. I added a whoopie pie filling onto the top and poured a chocolate ganache glaze onto that. YUP! This is a keeper! Bye, bye, Betty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Easy and delicious. Had no buttermilk on hand, but used sour cream cut with milk and it turned out nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Good, not the best ever though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I don't often write reviews because I often change things in the recipe and don't like to rate my changes. I made this cake as the recipe stated for a friend's birthday, and it was fantastic! Moist, almost fudgey, but not dense -- I baked in 2 8 inch round pans for 34mins. I frosted it with the "Creamy chocolate frosting" recipe from this site. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States