Jan's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Wow! This is so delicious, soft and chocolately. I just did a trial run of cupcakes, I plan on making the cake for my son's birthday party this weekend. I've never had a cake from scratch turn out so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Wasn't impressed with this cake. I followed instructions to a T and it turned out way to dense and lacked a chocolate taste. It didn't really rise either. I won't make again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywood21691

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This cake was exactly what I was looking for - light and fluffy chocolate (trhe chocolate cake I usually make is very dense and very chocolately) . I made this recipe for a co-worker's last day and everyone LOVED it. It was chocolate but not too sweet - and perfect when I topped it with a very sweet caramel buttercream that I found on a different site. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't make any substitutions so this cake gets 5 stars and a permanent place in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I'm giving it five stars even though I'll never get to have any of the one I made today. However, if it's half as good as it looks, it will taste terrific. A friend came over and we made this cake for her boyfriends birthday party and they will be impressed...guaranteed. I used a cooked chocolate icing that my mom used to make years ago and then we dipped strawberries in white almond bark and drizzled dark chocolate over them. The went around the edge and wow it looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Delicious, moist cake. Really easy to make! Got lots of compliments. Worked well at high altitude. Substituted coffee for water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
The recipe is simple and easy to follow. The cake turned out nice and moist. I was a little worried when pouring in the boiling water because I use an electric cake mixer and the water was splashing about, so I did it real slowly and stood away from the mixer while it was mixing. I would use this recipe again because the cake is so simple yet delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I gave it three stars because I didn't like it, but other folks who ate it thought it was the best ever! It was way too "densely moist" for my taste, if that makes sense. I like my cake to be a little fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kprete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
It's a moist & spongy cake, however the choco taste is not very strong. I will try to add choco chips or choco icing next time. And I think 1C water is too much, I just use 1/2C and the texture come out perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made the cake exactly according to recipe. I did bake this in a greased 9x13 baking pan for just over 30 minutes. After it cooled, I made my own chocolate buttermilk frosting to spread over the top. Great basic homemade cake that used on hand ingredients and that's perfectly chocolate-y. To be honest, the frosting I paired with it really took it over the top. Just what I needed. I'll use this again in a couple days for my oldest boy's chocolate birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Love this recipe! my absolute favorite chocolate cake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States