Jan's Chipotle Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Holy moly! I could've just eaten these for dinner!! I used to dislike sweet potatoes, and ONLY eat them when covered in brown sugar, butter & marshmallows. This is my new obsession. I knew they would be great when I swiped a lick of the bowl after I tossed them into the oven.. the seasoning mix alone was yummy. I followed the recipe, but used chili powder (no chipotle powder on hand) and I used foil instead of parchment paper (suggestion: spray the foil! I didn't and they stuck a bit!). I forgot to set the times and took them out when they were tender (no clue how long!). they were firm and nicely roasted on the outside and creamy on the inside. They do have a tiny kick of heat, but it's balanced by the sweet of the brown sugar and potato. These are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was very tasty! I didn't have chipotle chili powder, so I just used regular chili powder, and it was great. I imagine it would be even better with chipotle chili powder. I cut the sweet potatoes into chunky fries. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRmenian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Making these over and over. Even tried it with butternut squash and was also great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Loved this recipe....the sweet and spice went together nicely! Will definitely make this again, and soon! Thanks, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nschrader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I estimated amounts of each spice,as I tested the recipe on a half of a potato for me (single serving), but kept the proportions of the original recipe. Rather than quartering, I sliced lengthwise into french fry like sizes. Used olive oil, and forgot I had chipotle powder and subbed chili powder - but the combination of sweet, salty and spicy was amazing. This goes on my repeat list, will definitely impress guests as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Recipe group weekly selection. We loved them! My son really loved them! Said I didn't make enough, I did half the recipe, next time I'll make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used olive oil (1 TBSP) instead if butter. Wanting to cut some if the fat from the recipe. Overall, the fam loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These are good- I found them too spicy for out family, but if you like alot of spice this is a great one for you! The taste was great, I will just use less chile for me. No complaints otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 04, January 2014 ~ Super yummy and delicious with a touch of heat! Exactly the way I like baked sweet potatoes. I made it as written only cutting back for 1 large sweet potato. My taste buds loved the mixture of the sweet-heat as this potato was going down. Even my sweet potato disliking hubby tried it as I was raving with each bite. Guess what? He liked the skinny pieces. Said "there is too much sweet potato in the thicker pieces". Maybe I will be able to convert him yet, if I cut the pieces thin! Thanks, Jan for sharing your recipe. I have one more sweet potato to make this again, next week. Guess I might have to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this for recipe group and it is a keeper for sure!!! The description said it all. Sweet, salty, spicy, and a flash of heat. I had to cut down just a tad on the chipotle as I have a heat wimp in the house. Will be making these again soon! Thanks Wfdm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States