Janine's Best Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Review update - after making many batches of this wonderful bread, I finally think I figured out where the "dry" reviews are coming from. The bananas I used before were quite large. The bananas this time were not as big and I only had the 3. The batter turned out much stiffer than usual and I got a very dry loaf. So use BIG bananas, or add extra if you have smaller bananas. I guess a cup amount would be more accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
465 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This recipe was delicious and quite easy to make, as promised. I used 2 eggs instead of 1, and added a tsp. of vanilla, but this was probably the moistest banana bread, and the slightly crisp outer crust was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Excellent! I added a handful of brown sugar (a trick my mom taught me for color and a nice crunch to the crust) and a dash of milk to thin it out a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
The best banana bread ever!!! I've made several different recipes and they've always gotten rave reviews but NEVER has my 3 year old son wanted to eat it...this one he does! I doubled the batch using 5 medium over ripe bananas and adding 2 tsp vanilla, 4 Tbsp French Vanilla yogurt, and half yellow half white sugar. Filled one loaf pan for bread then added semi sweet chocolate chips to the remaning batter to make one dozen muffins. Reduced the temperature to 325 F. Muffins took 30 mins to cook and were perfect! Cooked the loaf for 30 mins, then covered with foil or 20 mins, removed the foil and baked another 10 mins for a total of one hour. Also, to make sure I had a nice moist loaf, after removing from the oven, I covered the loaf with foil for 30 mins...as I said before..PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by btchyt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I have made this literally 30 times. It is the best ever. Super moist and I find the more banana's the better. This is my 2 year old's favorite thing to eat. Even when he is sick this is the only thing he will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
This is a really great recipe. Was a total hit at my work and home. And my kitchen was absolutely smelling deliciously of hot bake banana bread!! GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
Great Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
This is a wonderful thing to do with your kids when they are BORED out of their minds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This banana bread is awesome. It's a regular in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NV4X4GAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Fast and easy recipe. My two-year-old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States