Janine's Best Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made this recipe tonight but because I had several bananas that were given to me by a friend, I doubled the recipe and made a bunt size cake. In doubling the recipe I added 2 extra bananas for a total of 8 ripe bananas. I substituted 2/3 cup of brown sugar for the same amount of white sugar to get a somewhat crispy crust. I added some cinnamon to the batter and about 1 tsp. of vanilla. I must say, I have made banana bread before, but this one was nice and moist and slightly crispy crust on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Today I made 2 versions of this bread, one w/walnuts & one w/peanut butter-chocolate chips. Both were quite good. To increase its nutritional value I used unsweetened applesauce & plain (Greek) yogurt instead of butter (as someone else suggested) & used white whole wheat flour and decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup. I will make this delicious and easy-to-make bread again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinmama1215
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is the only banana bread I make! Its quick to throw together and my family loves it! Although I do add a little brown sugar on top for a little crunchy goodness!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama1215

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I have made this bread about six or seven times, and it hasn't failed me yet!! Awesome recipe!! I actually tried a Splenda swap today and my husband couldn't even tell and it cuts calories too!! The only thing I would say about the Splenda swap is that it cooks a bit faster... I pulled it out 6 minutes earlier and it was a tad dry according to my husband. The original recipe is always moist though!! Love it and thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Great banana bread recipe. The only thing I added to this from other recipes was walnuts and vanilla. Everyone keeps asking for more, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Wow this is an amazing recipe! I read that it might be a little dry, so I added about a half cup of milk and it is absolutely perfect!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I loved this recipie... But by adding 2 tbsp. of cocoa powder/nesquik powder, a teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1/2 a cup of milk it was even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeidreMaria
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Great recipe. I only had two over ripe bananas and it still came out good. Perfect recipe to use as a base and get creative with. I'll update my review each time I do something new with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
My family loves this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as it is stated and it was very good, especially when you consider how simple it is. I know I will always have the handful of ingredients needed when I have ripe bananas. Another reason it may have been dry for some is that they may not be measuring flour the correct way. You have to spoon flour into a dry ingredients measuring cup and then level off with the back of a knife. Also, for the best taste, bananas have to be very,very ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninacat
Living In: Boardman, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States