Janie's Amazing Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Awesome. Somebody else said they taste like Orange Julius and I totally agree. They were a bit liquidy for my taste, but I just added in some vanilla yogurt to get the texture I wanted. Fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This recipe is excellent. I put zucchini in my garden for the first time this year because I wanted zucchini bread, but I thought that was the only way I would eat zucchini because mom used to serve to to us kids plain (and we hated it). I have gotten so much zucchini from two plants, I've been looking for good ways to use it besides in the bread. These smoothies are a good way...My kids can't get enough of them! I've put frozen peach and frozen pineapple into the mix, and I've used regular sugar and honey because nobody in my house is really dieting. I also took out the seeds from the zucchini and peeled it thoroughly. 4 stars for taste, and 5 stars for using the oft-unloved zucchini in a way that is delicious and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Very good! Couldn't taste the zucchini at all. Made a few changes tho': added one banana, used half mandarin/half orange juice, used honey instead of the other sweetener. I also used a bit of green powder(smoothie lacks protein & I didn't think regular protein powder would taste well), I wouldn't recommend it for people who are new to it--it's definitely an acquired taste. Also, I wouldn't add the vanilla extract next time--it wasn't a bad addition, I just felt it didn't need it. This smoothie is great, talk about getting at least 2 servings of veggies & 2 servings of fruit(if you add the banana). I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I even added half a banana, but still the zucchini taste was overpowering everything else... I didn't like it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This was such a strange concept I had to try it and actually, to my surprise, it wasn't bad at all! I even cut the Splenda by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made a smoothie like this when I was pregnant with both my boys, to make sure that I got more fruits/veggies into my diet. I would add half a frozen banana and a handful of frozen berries, too. I never used sweetener in my smoothies, but I know there are people who like things a little sweeter. Super good. And, you totally can't tell it's got zucchini! Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Tastes great. Yet I'd add more honey to make it richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
It tastes just like an orange julius! But it's lactose free as well as a lot healthier. I really enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States