Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
This is one of the best banana bread recipes I have found. The sour cream adds a wonderful moist quality to the bread. I can't seem to make enought of it! Cherrie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This is the absolute BEST banana bread I have ever had. It is very moist and delicious. The banana slices appear as purplish-gray lumps, but they taste phenomenal. I used fat-free sour cream and omitted the nuts in order to cut the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Just want to chime in here and say that this bread is delicious. It came out soft and moist (but not underdone) on the inside with a slightly crunchy exterior. I also left out the nuts with no negative side effects. .................................... The second time I made it (after writing the review), I didn't have any sour cream, and so I substituted strawberry yogurt. Just thought I'd mention that it is quite tasty that way, too. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
Excellent recipe and I'm a novice to cooking. I did substitute the sour cream for lowfat banana yogurt and added a pinch of cinnamon. ADDED: I noticed I have had this recipe in my allrecipe.com recipe box for almost 10 years. Still good after all these years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Yummy-moist-good banana taste. Mine could have been taken out a little early but still very good. Delicious with honey roast peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Undoubtedly the BEST banana bread recipe I have tried (sorry grandma). I think the sliced bananas add more moisture to the bread, and the butter content gives the bread a great crust (don't wrap it in saran to maintain it though). To note, I used what I had available. I used 1 container of nonfat vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream, I also used 3 bananas and added 1/4 c. cooked rasins to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
This is a great recipe, my friends loved it and asked for the recipe. It's really good warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream - it tastes like dessert in a fine restaurant! Once I tried it with low-fat vanilla yogurt and it's even richer that way, though you may need to cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This turned out beautifully and I didn't even have all of the ingredients. I only used 1/3 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup maple syrup + 2 TBSP honey instead of the sugar, and omitted the vanilla (I ran out!). I also added a little extra banana. The bread was great warm with a little butter. Also, I reduced the cooking time because my oven runs hotter. Overall, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
So delish that I could not stop eating it!!! I used brown sugar instead, and I used a round 8 inch pan and reduced the time by about 5 or 10 mins. SOOOO good! I will never ever mash bananas in my bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
this is a very good recipe!!! i like the bananas sliced not mashed. Good Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States