Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
This is one of the best banana bread recipes I have found. The sour cream adds a wonderful moist quality to the bread. I can't seem to make enought of it! Cherrie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Just want to chime in here and say that this bread is delicious. It came out soft and moist (but not underdone) on the inside with a slightly crunchy exterior. I also left out the nuts with no negative side effects. .................................... The second time I made it (after writing the review), I didn't have any sour cream, and so I substituted strawberry yogurt. Just thought I'd mention that it is quite tasty that way, too. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
Excellent recipe and I'm a novice to cooking. I did substitute the sour cream for lowfat banana yogurt and added a pinch of cinnamon. ADDED: I noticed I have had this recipe in my allrecipe.com recipe box for almost 10 years. Still good after all these years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Yummy-moist-good banana taste. Mine could have been taken out a little early but still very good. Delicious with honey roast peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Undoubtedly the BEST banana bread recipe I have tried (sorry grandma). I think the sliced bananas add more moisture to the bread, and the butter content gives the bread a great crust (don't wrap it in saran to maintain it though). To note, I used what I had available. I used 1 container of nonfat vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream, I also used 3 bananas and added 1/4 c. cooked rasins to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This turned out beautifully and I didn't even have all of the ingredients. I only used 1/3 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup maple syrup + 2 TBSP honey instead of the sugar, and omitted the vanilla (I ran out!). I also added a little extra banana. The bread was great warm with a little butter. Also, I reduced the cooking time because my oven runs hotter. Overall, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
So delish that I could not stop eating it!!! I used brown sugar instead, and I used a round 8 inch pan and reduced the time by about 5 or 10 mins. SOOOO good! I will never ever mash bananas in my bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
It was good, but the banana flavor wasn't as extreme as I'd like. I added cinnamon too. The bread was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
The best banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Yummy!! Followed the recipe completely and was very impressed. Will definately be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,006) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States