Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I followed the tweaks that naples34102 suggested and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. We don't like our banana bread overly sweet. I creamed the banana and sour cream with the wet ingredients. I also toasted the walnuts. Bit hit, no leftovers at potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
It is 5-stars recipe in all aspects: taste, moisture, density. It is easy to make. Next day it tastes even better. As I try to watch calories and eat healthy, I made some changes: reduced amount of sugar to 3/4 cups (use organic brown sugar); substituted butter with coconut oil and sour cream with fat-free plain Greek yogurt. I did not have walnuts, so I replaced with almonds. The recipe is a keeper. I highly recommend to give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYNOCHKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I added more bananas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Absolutely LOVE this banana bread!! First time I made it my kids demolished half a loaf before I could stop them! I always make a double batch now, and it turns out perfect every time! We recently made some banana bread french toast with this as well, the kids and my husband loved it. I have to say in all honesty I'm not a banana bread fan, and as someone who generally doesn't like it, I think this turns out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Perfect recipe, very moist even days later (kept in fridge)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Very Very good! didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Far and away the best banana bread. Easy to mix up, no mixer needed. I bake for 65 min. I add a dash of cinnamon, that's all I change. This is so delicious and moist. The butter adds so much flavor too. Decadent treat but I always end up sharing it with many people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I made this recipe twice, once as stated in the recipe and again with half the amount of banana. Both times I baked them longer than stated and the center collapsed and was raw in the middle. I think I will give it one more try and decrease the sour cream also. Too much moisture made it heavy and soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparks55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Best banana bread recipe I've ever had, hands down. I love that I don't need rotten black bananas for this recipe - because they are sliced I can use just slightly over-ripe ones. I've substituted yogurt for the sour cream sometimes and it's just as good. I've also tried chocolate chunks instead of nuts last time and it was also fantastic. This is the only banana bread I will ever make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
So flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rowena Castro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States