Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was so delicious & moist, we absolutely loved this recipe. The only change I made was to mash the bananas instead of slice them. I also added a few extra walnuts & softened the butter instead of melting. Absolutely a keeper, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I had high hopes for this recipe, especially after a top reviewer said this is Martha Stewarts recipe. The outside was getting dark, so I took it out of the oven. As it cooled the center collapsed. I turned it over to complete cooling, on a rack, and it near broke into 3 parts. I did use a non stick bread pan. The next day it was in even more pieces. It is a little sweet, too, honestly for my taste. Fortunately, I was not serving this to company, as it fell apart. I read reviews where others mention the browning on the outside before the inside. I have made a few banana breads from the site cake like ones and very moist ones, this in between that. However, they turned out taste and texture. So, not a repeat recipe. Wish this would have worked for me with all the good reviews! Even after I rated this numerous new reviews, a whole page worth, popped up from new members that joined the site just to review this particular recipe and rave it. I have not seen that many new reviews on a recipe of the day featured in an Allrecipes e-mail newsletter. Been interesting reading everyone's results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I added 1/3 cup brown sugar. I softened 1.5 sticks of butter and increased the flour to two cups. That along with 1 tsp each baking soda and baking powder.......awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet West

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I've never made banana bread before and this recipe was super easy and delicious! I did mash the bananas rather than slice them and I added 3 instead of 2. It turned out extremely moist, just how I like it. (: Im definitely sticking to this recipe for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Followed the advice of Naples34102 and used 1.75c of flour, 1 tsp of baking soda, 1 tsp of baking powder and an add of lemon juice. Only thing different I did was omit the nuts due to an allergen in the house. Tastes delish with a morning cup of Joe. Thank you Janet for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I make this all the time. I usually substitute half whole wheat pastry flour and half white whole wheat flour and it turns out great. I also add pecans. Very good, moist recipe. I don't melt the butter (I soften it) and I definitely mash the bananas up to make them sweeter rather than use cut banana chunks. Great recipe b/c of the sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Parichart Thumsamesorn
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is the best banana bread recipe...so moist so delicious yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This bread is tasty and moist. I used vegan butter and sour cream and nobody knew the difference. Everybody at work begged for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I made this bread yesterday. The flavor was wonderful, but it was way too sweet. I will make it again, using half the sugar. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Only alterations I make to this recipe are to add a cup of crushed walnuts and two extra bananas (as black as they can be). Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DameLibelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 3,076) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States