Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
With minor variations this is the recipe I've been making for 40 years. It originally came from a home ec teacher and it is beyond awesome. The differences are, first, that I cream the softened butter with the sugar (not melted). I add 1 tsp. lemon juice with the vanilla, and use 1 tsp. each of baking soda and baking powder, and 1-3/4 c. flour. Finally, regardless of how many bananas are used it should equal 1 cup. You will never find a better banana bread, and over the course of 40 years, I've never heard differently. Edited 8/17/09: My original 4/14/08 review should have indicated that I mash the bananas, not slice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2989 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
As other reviewers mentioned, it was very moist and the flavor was good. My only issue was the sight & feel of the bananas in the bread. Slicing them up, instead of mashing or pureeing them, causes them to be quite mushy and purple. I felt like I was biting into a bruise each time I ate a slice. I ended up digging them out before eating in order to salvage the bread. Sorry, but I think I'll stick to mashing or pureeing...but I'll use the rest of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is Martha Stewart's recipe... only Martha's says to use room temp. butter.. and suggests using a mixer for the butter and sugar to make it light and fluffy before adding flour and other ingredients, and a full cup of mashed bananas instead of chopped up like Janet says.. more bananas and mashing them is what many of you said you did to tweak this recipe, and it is better that way. It is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
866 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is quite simply the best banana bread I've ever had. I followed the recipe as stated, with a few additions, to enhance the overall flavor of the bread. I added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 tsp ground cloves to the batter and 1/2- 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips in addition to the walnuts. Almost all the reviewers agree that the bananas should be mashed, so I mashed them. This distributed the banana flavor evenly throughout the dough. I also advise against using a mixer for the batter. This would whip too much air into the cake and take away from its dense quality. I baked the bread at 325 and it was perfectly done in an hour and 15 minutes. It cuts easily, thinly and has a great crust. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
525 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is the best banana bread ever, and i have tried many looking for the best. Two suggestions 1) be sure to let your bananas become fully ripe with lotsa brown on the peel and a little on the fruit 2) i use three bananas for more moist loaf and more robust banana flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Just want to chime in here and say that this bread is delicious. It came out soft and moist (but not underdone) on the inside with a slightly crunchy exterior. I also left out the nuts with no negative side effects. .................................... The second time I made it (after writing the review), I didn't have any sour cream, and so I substituted strawberry yogurt. Just thought I'd mention that it is quite tasty that way, too. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
Excellent recipe and I'm a novice to cooking. I did substitute the sour cream for lowfat banana yogurt and added a pinch of cinnamon. ADDED: I noticed I have had this recipe in my allrecipe.com recipe box for almost 10 years. Still good after all these years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Yhis bread was good right after I baked it. The banana pieces turned brown and were gooey the next day. I think the mashed bananas make a better bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Thanks for the great idea of slicing the bananas! That's what makes this recipe different from the rest. I used half brown sugar, whole wheat pastry flour, and plain yogurt for the sour cream. Really banana-y and moist. This might be the banana bread recipe I've been looking for. Slice the bananas thinly and you won't find hunks - just intense, moist banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
This is one of the best banana bread recipes I have found. The sour cream adds a wonderful moist quality to the bread. I can't seem to make enought of it! Cherrie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,836) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States