Janet's Rich Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I can not make homemade bread, I mess it up every time HOWEVER, this banana bread is so super easy and you can't mess it up, this is a household favorite.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kickleuk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
The first thing that caught my eye on this recipe was the word "rich" in the name :-). The second thing that appealed to me was that the bananas are sliced--different, and no mashing. Like bookchiq, I love the unexpected crisp crust. I admit that I also made changes. I like bananas with a bit of caramel flavor, so I used 1/2 C lightly packed brown sugar and 1/2 C white sugar. I, like others, creamed softened butter with the sugars. It just felt odd to me not to. I never make banana bread without cinnamon, so I added 1 1/2 teaspoon. I was out of nuts, but had sunflower seeds, so I used them. I don't think they added or took away anything from Janet's recipe, though I will have to make with nuts to be sure. Three of us ate the whole loaf between dinner and breakfast the next morning, so I made it again the next day to share at work. My son told me this is the best banana bread I have ever made. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yumdad
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Perfection ! I like my banana bread really moist . The last time I baked it , I added a little bit of whole milk. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumdad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I made this bread last night and this morning ate about 3 pieces. I mashed the bananas well with a fork. I couldnt see leaving them in slices for the recipe. I thought it was delicious and would def. make it again. I used about 3/4 cup sugar. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Super moist and flavorful! I doubled the recipe and added 1 1/2 cups of white sugar instead of 2. Added a teaspoon of cinnamon. Skipped the nuts, bur added 1/2 cup chocolate chips. My 14 year old daughter loved them, and she's very picky about banana bread. She said it was the best I ever made. Next time, I'll probably not add the chocolate chips. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks, Janet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I made this banana bread recipe because I had some bananas that were over-ripe. I changed it a bit, I used coconut sugar and coconut flour and added chia seeds and pecans. I didn't have sour cream so I used 1/2 cup of buttermilk. It was delicious. My family loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This is a simple recipe that yields delicious results. The only modification I made was substituting pecans for walnuts. This bread is so moist, yet not too dense. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Ok after reading other recipes and reviews I am shocked to discover that other people actually prefer dense banana bread. I always thought I was doing it wrong when it came out like a brick. If that is what you are looking for, keep searching because this was the lightest, fluffiest banana bread I've ever had and I could have eaten the entire loaf the first night. It actually rose to the top of the loaf pan! I can't wait to try this recipe as muffins next. I opted not to use the nuts, this bread melts in your mouth without them. Otherwise I made it exactly as stated. Tip: unpeel your overripened banana and freeze it until you have enough of them to make bread. I'm never afraid to buy too many bananas after discovering they can be frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I make this all the time. The two changes I make are to mash 3 bananna's and instead of the sour cream I use two containers of lemon or pineapple of activia yougurt. It is just exellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I am making this recipe for the second time at this moment. I used 1 1/2 c flour, added 1 tsp baking powder and mashed the bananas. Was looking for the recipe from my childhood and this is it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States