Janet's Famous Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is by far the best banana bread ever! It is so moist and sweet, it's almost like banana cake but not so rich you can't enjoy 12 pieces! Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Easy to follow instruction. I chose to use my oven to bake it. Doubling the recipe netted me two loaves of bread and a dozen muffins. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe for the holidays and it was very good. The second time I made it I changed it a little. I like cakes and breads to be cake-like so more moisture always works. I doubled the sour cream, added an extra egg and banana as well as an extra 1/2 cup of flour and it came out perfect. I know I changed the recipe but it was awesome in its original form. I was a chef for most of my life and lost all of my recipes in a house fire. This recipe is going into my recipe bible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was absolutely GREAT. My husband and I ate a piece while it was warm and YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Yes and it is delicious. I added some cinnamon, nutmeg, orange zest, orange mariner liquor - with whipped cream, can be a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This recipe is a keeper , I halfed the recipe and made 12 muffins and they were very moist and yummy with a few changes . First I used waaay less sugar 3/4 cup, the sour cream that I had was 1/3 less fat , 1/4 cup of butter + 1/2 cup of home made pear sauce which works much better than apple sauce , since I didn't like to use half an egg I used 2 eggs and addded 1/4 tsp cinnamon and chocolate chip for the kids . it's my favorite recipe for now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made this for the first time. This was the best banana bread I have made. The crisp top was the best. I used walnuts instead of pecans and I also used 3 banana'a instead of 2 gave it a really good banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Excellent! This was the best Bananna bread I ever had! My husband and I ate it all in two days and I am not a person that likes sweets much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
My family knows that if the bananas on the counter over-ripen, I will make this banana bread. I suspect a plot as the bananas sit for days, but the bread is gone in minutes. Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Just made this...fresh out of the oven. My family wouldn't even wait for it to cool. I used walnuts instead of pecans just because we prefer it & also used nutmeg instead of cinnamon only because I had none. My family & I give this one a big thumbs up!! Moist but nice crust on top, not too sweet. I accidentally put 3,cups of flour instead of 3.5, didn't seem to have a negative affect. Wonderful recipe! Turned out great even with my minor changes!!! Thanks for sharing :)) SJB ATL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States