Janet's Famous Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Easy to follow instruction. I chose to use my oven to bake it. Doubling the recipe netted me two loaves of bread and a dozen muffins. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe for the holidays and it was very good. The second time I made it I changed it a little. I like cakes and breads to be cake-like so more moisture always works. I doubled the sour cream, added an extra egg and banana as well as an extra 1/2 cup of flour and it came out perfect. I know I changed the recipe but it was awesome in its original form. I was a chef for most of my life and lost all of my recipes in a house fire. This recipe is going into my recipe bible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was absolutely GREAT. My husband and I ate a piece while it was warm and YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Yes and it is delicious. I added some cinnamon, nutmeg, orange zest, orange mariner liquor - with whipped cream, can be a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This recipe is a keeper , I halfed the recipe and made 12 muffins and they were very moist and yummy with a few changes . First I used waaay less sugar 3/4 cup, the sour cream that I had was 1/3 less fat , 1/4 cup of butter + 1/2 cup of home made pear sauce which works much better than apple sauce , since I didn't like to use half an egg I used 2 eggs and addded 1/4 tsp cinnamon and chocolate chip for the kids . it's my favorite recipe for now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made this for the first time. This was the best banana bread I have made. The crisp top was the best. I used walnuts instead of pecans and I also used 3 banana'a instead of 2 gave it a really good banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Excellent! This was the best Bananna bread I ever had! My husband and I ate it all in two days and I am not a person that likes sweets much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
My family knows that if the bananas on the counter over-ripen, I will make this banana bread. I suspect a plot as the bananas sit for days, but the bread is gone in minutes. Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Just made this...fresh out of the oven. My family wouldn't even wait for it to cool. I used walnuts instead of pecans just because we prefer it & also used nutmeg instead of cinnamon only because I had none. My family & I give this one a big thumbs up!! Moist but nice crust on top, not too sweet. I accidentally put 3,cups of flour instead of 3.5, didn't seem to have a negative affect. Wonderful recipe! Turned out great even with my minor changes!!! Thanks for sharing :)) SJB ATL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Followed exact recipe and thought that 3 cups of sugar seemed a little to extreme but went against my better judgement. It was just way to sweet. Unfortunately I am still on the hunt for the perfect Banana nut bread recipe :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States