Jan Hagel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Delicious and very easy to make. I have made these for my family and co-workers on several occasions, and they've always been a hit. The entire amount of dough pressed nicely into an 11" x 17" cookie sheet, with about 1 in. of unused space at one end of the pan. I've found that cutting them into 24 pieces is a good serving size. Increasing the amount of cinnamon to 1 tsp was not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Lordy! Lordy! These cookies were utterly fantastic and, surprise, they didn't even have chocolate in them!! I found that a double recipe would beautifully fill a large cookie sheet. I finely chopped the nuts in order to nicely cover the entire surface. Who wouldn't love these cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Funny that I should find this recipe today. My mom just made a huge batch of this type of cookies. I never thought I would see this recipe anywhere else. These are a tradition in my family! It just isn't Christmas without these cookies. They are crispy, slightly sweet, and just melt in your mouth. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
These were so good and so easy to make! I cut them into diamonds and they looked great on my holiday cookie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These Dutch cookies are a tradition in our family - I am the third generation to make them for my family. My kids love them, and I love how easy they are to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
My coworkers and my husband LOVE these cookies! I'm not a huge walnut fan, but the flavor they add is really nice. I only use one cookie sheet (not enough dough for 1 1/2), and even then the cookies come out on the thin side. Still, the texture is great. I like to chop up the walnuts as finely as possible; it makes them easier to spread over the dough. Thanks for an easy and yummy recipe that's not the run-of-the-mill cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I loved these bars, but I couldn't spread the crust thinly enough to cover 1 1/2 cookie sheets. I ended up doubling the recipe and making a thick pie crust-like bottom to these cookies. I also made a variation with a cinnamon icing on top to add a little kick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
they're nice but i'm glad i added vanilla to the dough and sprinkled it generously with brown sugar and cinnamon prior to baking because i think it would have been bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
If you like pie crust, you'll love this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Simply amazing! The best cookies I've ever made! Change nothing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommybrain4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States