Jan Hagel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I needed a quick and easy recipe for our church live nativity so I chose this one. DELICIOUS! They were so tasty that the first batch never made it out of the house I needed to bake a second right away! My husband said these could very well be his new favorites.....that's saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Made these last night... mostly because I already had all the stuff and they sounded good and simple. Very very tasty cookies! I patted the dough out to fill my cookie sheet... approximately 11x17, so they are probably too thick, but I think they are perfect. Worried that they would be a bit bland, I added vanilla to the dough and topped with the egg white, pecans (no walnuts), coarse sugar in the raw, and some cinnamon. Very good... chewy, with a good melty butter cookie texture. Next time I will press into a larger cookie sheet just to get the crispness of a good butter cookie. Not sure how many I made, cause husband ate them as fast as I could break them apart... Cut into 2 inch squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I wasn't sure what to expect because I don't care for nuts in baked treats, but my daughter wanted to try them. The walnut flavor and texture actually blends in quite well with the cookie. I had to pull the trays out of the oven early because they were getting a bit too done. Perhaps I spread the dough too thin. (I spread it just under 1/2" thick and it completely filled two 11" x 7" x 1.5" pans) In the end they turned out like a mix between a sugar cookie and short bread. I will make this again and watch the time to see if I just overcooked them. I just don't know if these should be a crisp cookie or a softer cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
they're nice but i'm glad i added vanilla to the dough and sprinkled it generously with brown sugar and cinnamon prior to baking because i think it would have been bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Dumont

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
These were so good and so easy to make! I cut them into diamonds and they looked great on my holiday cookie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
If you like pie crust, you'll love this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Best cookies ever-- they have been a tradition in my family for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS RECIPE!! It is SUPER DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Baked these cookies tonight, turned out fantastic. Yum diddly yum yum! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Made these because I thought the flavor would resemble russian teacakes (because f the walnuts). They are mediocre. (I did substitute 1/2 whole wheat flour). Thought they could have used some vanilla extract and maybe some brown sugar to add some complexity. Might drizzle some icing or chocolate over the rest to perk them up. Don't think I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States