Jan Hagel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These cookies are amazing! My entire family loves them and are always asking me to make more. The only thing I do differently is that I used sliced almonds instead of chopped walnuts. I think they look prettier sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
made these for xmas last year, the family loved them! definitely going to make them again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
The first time I had these cookies was from a neighbor when I was about 12. I'm now 53 and they are a must for special occasions. I've never tried them with walnuts but use sliced almonds instead, I also add about a 1/4 t of butter extract to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Turned out amazing.. I have made it 3 times in a row now and everyone loved it every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We used pecans because we didn't have walnuts and they were great. Some were a bit to thick but the thin ones were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Terry
Home Town: Lexington, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These were wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I needed a quick and easy recipe for our church live nativity so I chose this one. DELICIOUS! They were so tasty that the first batch never made it out of the house I needed to bake a second right away! My husband said these could very well be his new favorites.....that's saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Made these last night... mostly because I already had all the stuff and they sounded good and simple. Very very tasty cookies! I patted the dough out to fill my cookie sheet... approximately 11x17, so they are probably too thick, but I think they are perfect. Worried that they would be a bit bland, I added vanilla to the dough and topped with the egg white, pecans (no walnuts), coarse sugar in the raw, and some cinnamon. Very good... chewy, with a good melty butter cookie texture. Next time I will press into a larger cookie sheet just to get the crispness of a good butter cookie. Not sure how many I made, cause husband ate them as fast as I could break them apart... Cut into 2 inch squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I wasn't sure what to expect because I don't care for nuts in baked treats, but my daughter wanted to try them. The walnut flavor and texture actually blends in quite well with the cookie. I had to pull the trays out of the oven early because they were getting a bit too done. Perhaps I spread the dough too thin. (I spread it just under 1/2" thick and it completely filled two 11" x 7" x 1.5" pans) In the end they turned out like a mix between a sugar cookie and short bread. I will make this again and watch the time to see if I just overcooked them. I just don't know if these should be a crisp cookie or a softer cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
they're nice but i'm glad i added vanilla to the dough and sprinkled it generously with brown sugar and cinnamon prior to baking because i think it would have been bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States