Jan Hagel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Delicious and very easy to make. I have made these for my family and co-workers on several occasions, and they've always been a hit. The entire amount of dough pressed nicely into an 11" x 17" cookie sheet, with about 1 in. of unused space at one end of the pan. I've found that cutting them into 24 pieces is a good serving size. Increasing the amount of cinnamon to 1 tsp was not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Lordy! Lordy! These cookies were utterly fantastic and, surprise, they didn't even have chocolate in them!! I found that a double recipe would beautifully fill a large cookie sheet. I finely chopped the nuts in order to nicely cover the entire surface. Who wouldn't love these cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Funny that I should find this recipe today. My mom just made a huge batch of this type of cookies. I never thought I would see this recipe anywhere else. These are a tradition in my family! It just isn't Christmas without these cookies. They are crispy, slightly sweet, and just melt in your mouth. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
These were so good and so easy to make! I cut them into diamonds and they looked great on my holiday cookie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These Dutch cookies are a tradition in our family - I am the third generation to make them for my family. My kids love them, and I love how easy they are to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
My coworkers and my husband LOVE these cookies! I'm not a huge walnut fan, but the flavor they add is really nice. I only use one cookie sheet (not enough dough for 1 1/2), and even then the cookies come out on the thin side. Still, the texture is great. I like to chop up the walnuts as finely as possible; it makes them easier to spread over the dough. Thanks for an easy and yummy recipe that's not the run-of-the-mill cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I loved these bars, but I couldn't spread the crust thinly enough to cover 1 1/2 cookie sheets. I ended up doubling the recipe and making a thick pie crust-like bottom to these cookies. I also made a variation with a cinnamon icing on top to add a little kick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
they're nice but i'm glad i added vanilla to the dough and sprinkled it generously with brown sugar and cinnamon prior to baking because i think it would have been bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
If you like pie crust, you'll love this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Simply amazing! The best cookies I've ever made! Change nothing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommybrain4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States