Jammin' Tarheel Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
We loved this chili. Very nice flavor- not too hot, but a good blend of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wavy437

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This was a very tasty chili. I didn't add the beer (I just don't like beer believe it or not! LOL!) but otherwise it was good. I would make this again. It does make a lot of chili too which is good for leftovers on fries and hotdogs etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I LOVE this chili. I'm not a beer drinker, but I love the depth it adds to this dish. I make it, then refrigerate it overnight. I find it is definitely better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
wow - this was fantastic! hers what I did: I used one can of loma linda vegeburger (instead of the ground beef) cooked w/the onions and half a bell pepper and one stalk of celery in some oil with a half package of chili seasoning - then added 1 can of tomatoe sauce, 2 cans of chopped peeled tomatoes, 1 large bottle of Newcastle beer, left out the mushrooms (although I love them), 2 cans of kidney beans and 2 cans of pinto beans w/ all the seasonsings listed in the recipe adding a lil more chili pepper and a couple dashes of cinnamon and cooked it for 2 1/2 hours - It was outstanding and the leftovers where better the next day - we used it for chili dogs and corn chip (frito) pie! thanks for a great recipe = the beer made it 10 times better and my family didnt know I used no meat until I told them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINAFNV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
5 star+. 15 minutes of prep and a couple of the best meals I have ever made. This chili is so thick! I used soyrizo (health food sect., soy substitute) to add more protein and less cholesterol. I am looking forward to a cold winter to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
First time ever making chili and this recipe was awesome!! I used steak instead of ground beef. Also, couldn't find chili beans so I used 2 cans kidney and 1 can great northern beans. Also, used fresh mushrooms instead of from the can. Didn't have any beer on hand but tasted great anyway. Let simmer in crock pot all day long. Some of the best chili I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
The best chili recipe! It was so easy and delicious! My roommate also loved it!! I didn't put beer because the store only sold 6-bottle beer and I don't drink beer. It still came out great. I didn't add mushroom but added bell pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Really good. We added bell peppers to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heart E. Cook
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This is an awesome chili recipe! I thought the mushrooms were strange, but they pleasantly added some extra texture and color. I used a few white buttons instead of canned. If you don't like beer, don't be afraid to put some in this chili. It does add depth like someone else pointed out, and your chili will not end up tasting like beer. Delicious, spicy and colorful, and great to eat out of a bowl or with chips, I will be making this again and again! Thanks a bunch for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is the best chili recipe I've found. I did make some changes though: I added 2 green peppers, I used 2 lbs of soy crumbles instead of ground beef, and I only used about 1/4 tsp of cayenne (next time, I will use 1 tsp). I used Newcastle for the beer. This was better than the chili mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States