Jammin' Tarheel Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe is great and simple. Instead of cooking it on the stove top I throw everything into my slow cooker on low for the day and stir it every once and a while. It turns out great. I make it just as the recipe calls for except that I can never find chili beans so I just use 2 cans of kidney instead of 1. I make it all the time in my home and usually make extra to freeze so it's always on hand. A favourite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bianca
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I decided to make this recipe b/c my husband is a big Tarheel and chili fan. At first he was skeptical b/c of all the ingredients. Once he tasted the chili he was blown away. Every time I make this recipe it's great. The only thing i leave out is the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This was pretty good. The best chili recipe I've tried so far. I left out the mushrooms, addes some chopped bell pepper since I had some in the fridge. I only did one pound of ground beef and added two extra cans of beans (seemed healthier and tasted just fine). Also, I didn't precook the vegetables. Instead I dumped everything in the crock pot and cooked it on low all day. Turned out great. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I LOVE this chili. I'm not a beer drinker, but I love the depth it adds to this dish. I make it, then refrigerate it overnight. I find it is definitely better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a wonderfully rich and flavorful chili. I have made it with Guinness and Newcastle and the dark beer really sets off the flavors. I also used deer meat instead of ground beef and received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I like my chili thick which this was but that's all it had going for it. It seriously lacked flavor...it was all spice, and we couldn't taste anything else. Neither my husband or I liked it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is by far the best chili I've ever had and definitely the best I've ever made myself. The spices are there to add flavor. That's what spices are for! The first time I made this, I doubled the recommended amount of Cayenne b/c my husband loves spicy food. However, I would recommend only the amount she recommends or even less b/c that is plenty. This is amazing chili, and I got the most compliments even if it was too spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This was a very tasty chili. I didn't add the beer (I just don't like beer believe it or not! LOL!) but otherwise it was good. I would make this again. It does make a lot of chili too which is good for leftovers on fries and hotdogs etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
First time ever making chili and this recipe was awesome!! I used steak instead of ground beef. Also, couldn't find chili beans so I used 2 cans kidney and 1 can great northern beans. Also, used fresh mushrooms instead of from the can. Didn't have any beer on hand but tasted great anyway. Let simmer in crock pot all day long. Some of the best chili I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This recipe was great! I subsituted carrots and peppers for the mushrooms and celery. I also made the recipe for 6 servings instead of 12 and discovered that if you simmer it for 3 hours the bottom burns! I would only simmer for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States