Jammin' Tarheel Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is AWESOME!!!I made it exactly the way the recipe is written but left out the mushrooms.AS far as the beer goes I used Newcastle.This chili had the right amount of heat for my taste but If you don't like a lot of heat I would cut back on the cayenne pepper a little bit.I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
The best chili! I like to use a smokey porter, the beer adds a great flavor. I also add jalapeno (we like it hot too) and leave out the mushrooms. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This has become our go-to chili recipe. We usually use only 1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef and about half of the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Made this chili for Superbowl party & no one liked it!!! What an embarrasment. I left out the celery & mushrooms because thesr are not ingredients I use in chili. I added garlic, bay leaves & paprika. When my husband asked if I had tasted the chili, I knew it was my first flop ever from AllRecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This recipe was absolutely awesome!! I made it over the holidays for my family and they went crazy over it. I used fresh mushrooms (sliced) instead of the canned and I do think the next time I will add more hot sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This recipe was an immediate hit! I was afraid of the beer flavor being strong as I hate beer but I didn't even taste a hint of it! Easy to make, feeds a big family with leftovers and little changes (I only omitted the celery!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracieT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Very good! I live in OH where we recently had single digit temperatures and this Chili recipe hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and substituted spicy v8 for beer; when I tasted it I thought it was bland, so following another recipe I added 2 tsp. vinegar, 2 tsp. brown sugar, 1 tsp. salt and another TBS of chili powder. Turned out fabulous. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Ehh. Definitely missing something. If not for the cayenne pepper it would be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Delicious meal. I cooked it in the crockpot, added peppers with the mushrooms, celery and onion. I found it too liquidy so I added some tomato paste. Overall, extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States